Temporary plates won’t be issued to a vehicle that has failed for service brakes, steering components or frame rot until repairs have been certified by a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer as completed.
Temporary commercial registrations
Temporary Commercial Registrations for more than 10 days won’t be issued for vehicles that don’t pass inspection in full compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations at a DMV inspection lane.
Please see registration of a commercial vehicle for more information.
An inspection can’t be done if the title documents are marked "not safe for the road, junk, etc."
You'll need a letter from a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer confirming that repairs have been made and the vehicle is now safe for the road.
If you’ve gotten a warning ticket from a law enforcement agency for window tint, VIN problems or if the officer indicates 'DMV Inspection Only', you must present the vehicle for inspection at a DMV inspection lane.
All other warning tickets may be presented to a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer for inspection.
Tinted window requirements
Any vehicle with an after-market (or “after factory”) tint applied to the window needs to get the tint tested in order to receive a tint compliance sticker. This sticker must be affixed to the window by the DMV.
When tested, windows need to have an allowable light transmittance of no less than 35 percent, plus or minus three percent to receive a sticker.
What is an after-market tint?
A vehicle window tinted or darkened with any tinted material after factory delivery, is an after-market tint. You need to bring these vehicles to the Department of Motor Vehicles for inspection.
Courtesy inspections for window tint are conducted at a DMV inspection lane—learn more about that process.
If a medical condition exists that requires your window tint to be between 32 percent and not less than 20 percent, a medical exemption may be granted. If this is the case, request an application and special permit for exemption from tinted window requirements (Form E-220).
The DMV’s Commercial Vehicle Safety Division validates this request after your vehicle passes tint measurement in the inspection lane at the Wethersfield, CT, DMV location.
Carry the validated form in your vehicle at all times. Compliance stickers should not be affixed to windows in exempted vehicles.
Window tint with a light transmittance of less than 20 percent fail the measurement and are not issued an exemption. You are referred to the Medical Review Unit for further review if you need an exemption.
If the vehicle is equipped with left and right-hand side rearview mirrors, the tinting standard does not apply to the rear-most window, the back window, for example. back window).
If the manufacturer's certification label in the driver’s door jamb identifies the vehicle as a multi-purpose vehicle (MPV), the windows to the rear of the operator may be tinted as dark as desired provided the vehicle is equipped with left and right-side rearview mirrors.
Trucks, motor buses, motor homes, and livery vehicles
The windows to the rear of the operator may be tinted as dark as desired provided the vehicle is equipped with left and right- side rearview mirrors.
Note: If you wish to verify that your vehicle tints are within the legal limit, you may bring the vehicle to the Wethersfield inspection lane. If the vehicle fails, you receive a warning ticket.