alert icon
SERVICE UPDATE:

Our website will be undergoing scheduled maintenance on Sunday, July 14th at 9:00 p.m. through Monday, July 15th at 7:20 a.m. During this time, many online services will be unavailable. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your understanding as we work to improve our site.

Get a special use permit for suspended drivers in Connecticut

Find out how suspended drivers can apply for a permit to operate a motor vehicle under certain circumstances

Get a special use permit for suspended drivers in Connecticut

Find out how suspended drivers can apply for a permit to operate a motor vehicle under certain circumstances

What is a special use permit for?

Connecticut offers special permits for select people with suspended licenses that allow them to drive under certain circumstances.

This special use permit, or special operator’s permit, allows you to drive for work purposes, to attend classes and take exams at higher-education institutions, and to get ongoing medical treatments.

If approved, you need to carry the permit with you when driving and follow all restrictions.

Please note:
A special use permit cannot be used to drive a commercial or public service motor vehicle.
chevron-down
  • How to qualify for a special use permit
  • Special use permit holder responsibilities

How to qualify for a special use permit

To qualify for a special use permit, you cannot have any of the following on your driving record:

  • Suspensions for failure to appear/pay a citation 
  • Suspensions for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI/DWI/OUI) 
  • A prior alcohol-related offense 
  • Three or more prior moving violations as specified in Connecticut General Statute 14-111g(a) on your driving history—request your history here 
  • Two or more prior moving violations on your driving history, if you are currently suspended for reckless driving or evading responsibility 
  • A violation of vehicular manslaughter or vehicular assault 

Special use permit holder responsibilities

When you drive with a special use permit, please remember the following: 

  • Special use permits are subject to strict standards for approval and use 
  • You cannot operate a motor vehicle unless the special use permit is in your possession 
  • Misuse of a permit, conviction of a traffic citation, or a new license suspension while operating under a permit may result in removal of the permit and other penalties
  • Driving outside of Connecticut: If you intend to drive outside of Connecticut, you must first check with law enforcement in that state to determine if a Connecticut special use permit is honored there 

For more information, please call DMV's Driver Services Division at 860-263-5720. 

chevron-down
  • Step 1
  • Step 2
  • Step 3
  • Additional information for out-of-state drivers

Step 1

Complete the Special Operator’s Permit Application (Form MD-1) for either a work, education, or medical permit.  

Applications can be scanned and emailed to DMV.Suspension@ct.gov or mailed to the DMV: 

Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles 
Driver Services Division 
60 State Street 
Wethersfield, CT 06161-2525

Step 2

Pay a non-refundable $100 application fee for each permit request. You can make your payment online or by mail with a check or money order payable to "DMV."

 

It takes 10 business days from the date the Driver Services Division receives your correspondence to process your request.

Step 3

Review the details of each permit for additional instructions.

 

Work Permit

  • If you have more than one place of employment, each employer must complete a separate application on page 2.

  • If you are self-employed, you must submit a copy of your business filing from the CT Secretary of State or the most recent business income tax return indicating that you are a principal or owner of business. 

Education Permit

  • Get and submit a certified copy of your class and examination schedule identifying the days, hours, and locations of your classes. 

Medical Permit

  • A medical permit is only for ongoing medical treatment. Ongoing medical treatment is defined as treatment by or prescribed by a medical provider that requires travel to a treatment facility one or more times per week. The treatment should be essential to maintaining your life or health, where withholding treatment may adversely affect your condition.

  • If your license is medically withdrawn, you do not qualify for a medical permit.

Additional information for out-of-state drivers

Out-of-State Drivers: If you are licensed to drive in another state, you must provide a recent certified copy of your driving record from that jurisdiction. The DMV does not accept driving records from private vendors.