Renew your vessel registration in Connecticut

Three ways to renew your boat or other water vessel registration

Renew your vessel registration in Connecticut

Three ways to renew your boat or other water vessel registration
Renewing your vessel registration is easy

There are three ways to renew the registration of your vessel (i.e., boats or other water vessels):

  • Online
  • In person
  • By mail

Please see below for detailed steps.

Estimated time to renew vessel registration online: 7 minutes
Get started
chevron-down
  • Who's eligible
  • How to
  • Fees
  • Receipt

Who's eligible

Online renewal

You can renew your Connecticut vessel registration online if:

  • You hold a Connecticut driver’s license
  • You have a Connecticut non-driver ID

You can’t renew online if you don’t have one of the above forms of identification, or if:

  • You have property taxes on your vessel that aren’t paid.
  • The make or vessel type is described in error on your renewal notice. If there is an error, contact us.
  • You are an organization rather than a person. Organizations who own water vessels can’t renew online.

How to

Follow these steps to renew your vessel registration online.

 

Step 1: Gather what you'll need

  • Your first and last name exactly as it appears on your driver's license or non-driver ID card
  • Your date of birth
  • Your street address on your driver's license or non-driver ID card
  • Your CT boat number and Hull Identification Number (HIN)
  • Your Social Security Number (not required for owners with an out-of-state driver's license or a CT drive-only license)
  • A credit or debit card

Step 2: Renew online

 

Get started

 

Step 3: Receive your registration

Your renewed vessel registration document and decal will arrive in the mail within 7-10 days.

Fees

Your renewal notice indicates your specific fees for vessel registration renewal. Fees are based on the length of your vessel — view fee schedule details.

 

Fees:

  • AIS fee: An Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Stamp fee of $5 is collected if you register or renew registration of a water vessel, boat, or jet ski in Connecticut.
  • Refunds will not be given unless permitted by law.

Receipt

You can request a copy of your receipt for any online transactions processed after May 21, 2021.
chevron-down
  • Who’s eligible
  • How to
  • Fees

Who’s eligible

In-person renewal

You can renew your Connecticut vessel registration in-person at a DMV location if you received an invitation to renew your registration certificate—except for the situations below. You’ll receive your registration and decal during your appointment.

 

You can't renew in-person if:

  • You have any outstanding property tax obligations.
  • Your vessel/boat requires additional documents and will continue to be processed by mail.
  • There’s a discrepancy with the make or vessel type on my renewal notice. We’ll gladly make the correction and mail you a new invitation.
    • Please email the DMV boating unit with “BOAT” and your Connecticut boat number in the subject line.
    • Send to: dmvMOD@ct.gov

Note: If you did not receive an invitation, you may be able to renew online.

How to

Follow these steps to renew your vessel registration in person at a DMV office.

 

Step 1: Gather what you'll need

Step 2: Make an appointment at a DMV office

 

Make an appointment

 

Step 3: Receive your registration

Fees

Your renewal notice indicates your specific fees for vessel registration renewal. Fees are based on the length of your vessel—view fee schedule details.

 

Fees:

  • Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) fee: An AIS Stamp fee of $5 is collected if you register or renew registration of a water vessel, boat, or jet ski in Connecticut.
  • Refunds will not be given unless permitted by law.
chevron-down
  • Who’s eligible
  • How to
  • Fees

Who’s eligible

Renewal by mail

You can renew your Connecticut vessel registration by mail if you received an invitation to renew your registration certificate—except for the situations below.

 

You can't renew by mail if:

  • You have any outstanding property tax obligations.
  • You did not receive your invitation to renew your vessel registration for the upcoming year. Tip: Save time and request a new invitation to review by email.
    • Email the DMV boating unit with “BOAT” and your Connecticut boat number in the subject line.
    • Send to: dmvMOD@ct.gov
  • There’s a discrepancy with the make or vessel type on my renewal notice. We’ll gladly make the correction and mail you a new invitation.
    • Please email the DMV boating unit with “BOAT” and your Connecticut boat number in the subject line.
    • Send to: dmvMOD@ct.gov

Note: If you did not receive an invitation, you may be able to renew online.

How to

Follow these steps to renew your vessel registration by mail.


Step 1: Prepare your envelope

  • Follow the instructions on your invitation to renew
  • Detach the bottom part of the invitation and put it in envelope
  • Prepare a check or money order made payable to “DMV” to pay for your fee listed on invitation

Step 2: Mail your envelope

Send your renewal information and payment to:
  • Department of Motor Vehicles 
    P.O. Box 140456
    Hartford, CT 06115

Step 3: Receive your registration

Your renewed vessel registration document and decal will arrive in the mail within 20 days.

Fees

Your renewal notice indicates your specific fees for vessel registration renewal. Please refer to your renewal invitation for the fee you will need to pay by mail.


Fees are based on the length of your vessel—view fee schedule details.

 

Fees:

  • AIS fee: An Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Stamp fee of $5 is collected if you register or renew registration of a water vessel, boat, or jet ski in Connecticut.
  • Refunds will not be given unless permitted by law.