Get a regulated dealer license

Find out how to get a dealer license

Get a regulated dealer license

Find out how to get a dealer license
How to apply for a dealer license

Using the tabs below, find the instructions and documents needed for the type of license you need.

Effective immediately
The DMV’s Dealers and Repairers Licensing Unit is not open for in-person services at this time. Please contact us by email at dmv.dr@ct.gov
Operating without a dealer license

It’s illegal to repair or sell motor vehicles to consumers in Connecticut without a Connecticut dealer license. It’s also illegal to repair or sell motor vehicles within Connecticut if you only have an out-of-state dealer license.

Anyone found selling or repairing motor vehicles in Connecticut illegally is committing a class B misdemeanor and is subject to arrest. Anyone operating a "motor vehicle recycler's yard" (aka junkyard) without a Connecticut recycler's license is committing a class C misdemeanor.
 
If you know of someone operating an unlicensed dealership, repair shop or recycler business, send a detailed, written complaint to: 
  
Department of Motor Vehicles
Dealer Enforcement Unit, Room 145
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
 
You should also send a copy of the complaint to the local zoning authority and police department of the town in which the business is located.

Complaints against active licensed dealerships and repair shops should be sent in writing to the DMV's Consumer Complaint Center.

Using dealer or repairer plates

An employee of a dealership or repair shop may use a dealer or repairer plate if ALL of the following criteria is met:

  • The person is a full-time employee of the dealership or repair shop (meaning they work a minimum of 35 hours per week) and is authorized to use the plates by the dealership or repair shop where they work.
  • The dealership or repair shop must issue the person a supplemental identification card (as required by section 14-63-15 of the motor vehicle statutes and regulations).
  • The plated vehicle must be owned by the dealership or repair shop, not by the individual who works there.
Labor rate requirements

Connecticut does not regulate the cost of parts or labor charged by vehicle dealerships or repair shops, but a dealership or repair shop needs to post their hourly labor rates on a sign at their place of business.

Repair rate requirements
Connecticut law requires that a dealership or repair shop:

  • Businesses are required to get written or verbal authorization from the customer on any repair. ALL repairs must be authorized by the customer regardless of the cost of the repair.
    • Note: If the actual cost exceeds the estimate, the consumer can give authorization verbally or in writing. An estimate of the maximum cost to the customer of the specific job authorized is required on any repair over $50.
  • Businesses must provide the customer with an invoice of the work performed and the parts used.

If you feel you’ve been improperly charged for a repair, you can file a written complaint. The DMV determines if a statutory violation has occurred.

Please follow these steps to file a complaint:

  1. Complete a complaint against CT-licensed dealer or repairer (Form K-35) to submit to the DMV Consumer Complaint Center.
  2. Include copies of all related repair documents.
  3. Send completed forms and repair information to:
    Department of Motor Vehicles 
    Consumer Complaint Center 
    60 State Street 
    Wethersfield, CT 06161 
    Phone: 860-263-5405 
chevron-down
  • How to get an auto club regulated business license
  • Dealership repair shop regulated business license
  • Getting a DMV regulated business license as a leasing and rental company
  • Getting a DMV regulated business license as a manufacturer
  • Recycler (junk yard) - getting a regulated DMV business license

How to get an auto club regulated business license

Any person or entity that offers a membership to the public to perform—for a stipulated fee covering a certain period—any service relating to the protection and assistance of automobile owners or drivers (other than insurance) needs an auto club license.

Ready to get an auto club regulated business license? 

To get an auto club regulated business license under Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-67, you need to complete/provide the following documents/requirements

Fees
Provide a check for $500, made payable to "DMV".

Contact us
Submit your application to listed mailing address:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Dealers and Repairers Licensing Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161

Hours of operation: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Email: dmv.dr@ct.gov

Dealership repair shop regulated business license

For full instructions on how to apply for a dealership/repair shop license, review procedure of obtaining a Connecticut automotive dealer’s or repairer’s license (Form K-36).

Forms to download

Fees
Non-refundable application and license fees are required up front with your application submission.  Please submit a check made payable to “DMV” for the specified fees below.

Application fee: $140

Transaction fee (two-year license fee)

  • New car dealership license: $700
  • Used car dealer license: $560
  • General or limited repair shop license: $340

Contact us
Submit your application to listed mailing address:   
Department of Motor Vehicles
Dealers and Repairers Licensing Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161

Hours of operation: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Email: dmv.dr@ct.gov

Getting a DMV regulated business license as a leasing and rental company

Under Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-15a, any person, firm, or corporation must fill out an application with the DMV to lease or rent vehicles before they are actually able to do so. 

To get a license, provide the following:

  • A completed application and license for motor vehicle leasing companies (Form K-7), signed and notarized
    • The application and license for the leasing company must be in the name and address of the Lessor (leasing company) and must be signed by an owner, officer, or an agent with power of attorney.
  • A Connecticut state sales tax number from the Department of Revenue Services. Submit a copy of this certificate with the leasing license application.
    • Mailing address:
      Department of Revenue Services
      State of Connecticut
      450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
      Hartford CT 06103-1837
    • Phone number: 
      860-297-4885 or 1-800-382-9463
  • Proof of financial responsibility in the form of a Connecticut special financial responsibility insurance certificate (form R1325e) as required in accordance to the provision of Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec.14-15. You can get the insurance certificate from any insurance company licensed to do business in the State of Connecticut. DMV does not supply the R1325e insurance certificate. Blanket coverage is required on the R1325e for all owned vehicles as provided by section 14-112 or 14-129, regardless of the duration of the lease or rental period.
  • A $15,000 surety bond (Form K-158).
    • Only required when a leasing company is engaged in leasing or renting of motor vehicles for periods of 30 days or more.
  • All businesses that are an LLC, Corporation, or Trust (organized in Connecticut) need to be registered with the Connecticut Secretary of State. They may be reached at 860-509-6003.
  • All out-of-state companies need to provide a copy of a Certificate of Good Standing from the state they are organized in.
  • A certificate of business status (Form K-198) must be completed. All leasing companies must provide a statutory agent for service located in Connecticut. The following individual(s) may be an agent for service:
    • Person who is resident of Connecticut
    • Domestic (Connecticut) corporation
    • Any foreign (not Connecticut) corporation that has a certificate of authority to transact business in Connecticut
    • Connecticut Corporation System (an independent statutory agent service) at 1-800-475-1212.
  • A copy of one driver's license.

Fees
Two-year new license: $300
Two-year renewal: $300
Renewal late fee: $100

Contact us
Submit your application to listed mailing address 
Department of Motor Vehicles
Regulated Business Licensing Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161

Hours of operation: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Email: dmv.dr@ct.gov

Getting a DMV regulated business license as a manufacturer

To get a Manufacturer's License under Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-67a for a manufacturer or distributor of motor vehicles who sells products in Connecticut there are several documents that must be submitted.

To get a license, provide the following:

  • A copy of the last annual financial report or the current balance sheet
  • A certified copy of the current warranty given to the purchaser or certified statement as to what the warranties are. This must include a description of what is covered under the factory warranty and the time period of coverage. This is required for each make of vehicle.
  • A copy of the franchise agreement or distributor agreement and standard provisions for each Connecticut franchised dealer. Additionally, a copy of this must be filed whenever a franchise is established by a manufacturer.
  • A list of current Connecticut franchised dealerships to include the make and model they are franchised to distribute.
  • A list of franchised distributors in Connecticut (If not applicable, explain).
  • Certified copy of delivery and preparation obligations required of dealers and distributors: This should be a copy of any requirements or procedures required by the manufacturer of the licensee and shall identify what items or services in which the franchisee is reimbursed by the manufacturer. 
  • An affidavit that shall state the hourly labor rates paid to each franchisee for labor under preparation and warranty obligations.  This may be a copy of the affidavit required under Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 42-133s to be provided to each dealer by the manufacturer.  
  • Schedule of dealer personnel training: This should be a schedule of the training required for sales and technicians as required by the manufacturer to meet franchise obligations. (If not applicable, explain.)

Certification of conformance with state and federal statutes which consists of:

  • DOT Numbers: Letter stating they are complying with federal statutes, confirming assignment of a world manufacturer identifier code. To obtain DOT numbers, contact National Highway Traffic Safety Association (NHTSA) at 1-800-424-9393.
  • EPA Numbers: Stating they are complying with federal statutes, confirming compliance with the Federal Clean Air Act. To obtain EPA numbers, contact United States Environmental Protection Agency at 1-202-564-9660.
  • A motor vehicle manufacturers' license application (Form K-7).
  • Certificate form (Form K-9B), must be signed by licensed engineer and notarized
  • Requirements for certification (Form K-9A), signed by company principal
  • Business license personnel list (Form K-26) with a valid email address 
  • Replacement parts statement (Form K-197) must be completed stating that a supply of replacement parts for vehicles sold in this state will be available to meet anticipated demand.
  • A current product brochure of every model offered for sale in Connecticut.
  • ** Trade name papers, if applicable.
  • A copy of the certificate of existence from the Secretary of State's office from the state in which you are registered as a corporation or LLC.
  • A certificate of business status (Form K-198). All leasing companies must provide a statutory agent for service located in Connecticut. The following individual(s) may be an agent for service:
    • person who is resident of Connecticut
    • domestic (Connecticut) corporation
    • any foreign (not Connecticut) corporation that has a certificate of authority to transact business in Connecticut
    • Connecticut Corporation System (an independent statutory agent service) at 1-800-475-1212.
  • A copy of at least one of driver's license.
  • A manufacturer termination of franchise notification (Form K-196).

Fees
Two-year license fee: $2,300, payable by check made out to "DMV." This fee is not prorated.

Note: All motor vehicle manufacturers licenses expire biennially on June 30. A renewal notice will be sent at least 45 days prior to expiration. Also, manufacturer plates are available for Connecticut-based manufacturers only.

Contact us
Submit your application to listed mailing address: 
Department of Motor Vehicles
Dealers and Repairers Licensing Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161

Hours of operation: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Email: dmv.dr@ct.gov

Recycler (junk yard) - getting a regulated DMV business license

For full instructions on how to apply for a recycler license, review procedures for obtaining a Connecticut motor vehicle recycler license (Form K-70).

Forms to download

Fees

  • Examination fee: $280
  • License fee: $705
  • Marker plate fee: $140 per plate (one vehicle)
  • Safety plate fee: $5 per plate

Contact us
Submit your application to listed mailing address: 
Department of Motor Vehicles
Dealers and Repairers Licensing Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161

Hours of operation: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Email: dmv.dr@ct.gov

chevron-down
  • Database of DMV-licensed businesses
  • How to search dealer, repairer, leasing company or manufacturer for their DMV business license
  • Type of business

Database of DMV-licensed businesses

All Connecticut motor vehicle dealers, repairers, leasing companies and manufacturers must be licensed by the DMV.
 

Please select on one of the following links below to view the business license list issued by DMV. The list is arranged by license number, DBAs (doing business as), business name, business address/location, expiration of license and type of license:

This list changes on a weekly basis. Licensees can be added or removed at any given time.

How to search dealer, repairer, leasing company or manufacturer for their DMV business license

When searching to verify if a dealer, repairer, leasing company or manufacturer is on this list, search by license number (N123, U12, R45 etc.) or business location (123 Main Street or Hartford). If you are searching the list in Excel, you may have to save it to your computer before this feature will work.

Type of business

License numbers include specific letters to indicate type of business:

  • O is for leasing company
  • J is for recycler (salvage/junkyard)
  • L is for a limited repair shop
  • N is for a new car dealer
  • U is for a used car dealer
  • R is for a general repair shop
  • M is for manufacturer  

Note: Many dealership and repair shop licenses are issued in a business name but the facility may be doing business in another name (have a DBA = Doing Business As). For example, XYZ Corporation may be doing business as Joe’s Garage. The address of Joe’s Garage will be on the list but the license will be in the XYZ Corporation name.

chevron-down
  • Pre-enrollment process

Pre-enrollment process

You need a name-based criminal history background check and fingerprinting when you apply for a business license. However, before you can be fingerprinted, you need to pre-enroll with the Connecticut Criminal History Request System (CCHRS).

Please follow the steps below to complete pre-enrollment:

  1. Email the DMV at DMV.DR@ct.gov for the service code you need to complete your pre-enrollment. Include “Service Code Request” in the subject line.
  2. Review the CCHRS user guide (PDF) for details about the process and steps for completing pre-enrollment.
  3. Once the service code is received from the DMV, you can complete pre-enrollment:

    Pre-enroll now
  4. Pay your fee online (payable by credit card).
  5. You can schedule your fingerprinting appointment with DESPP in Middletown, CT, during pre-enrollment, or you may complete at your local police department.
    • Note: Supply your enrollment confirmation at the time of your fingerprinting. 
  6. Submit proof of pre-enrollment with your dealership license application. Learn more about getting a regulated business license, including a dealer/repairer license.