Alert
April 12, 2024:

Power has been restored at our Norwich location.

Transfer your out-of-state license

Welcome to Connecticut!

Transfer your out-of-state license

Welcome to Connecticut!
Get your Connecticut driver’s license

Once you establish residency, you have 90 days to transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut.

Please note:
For your convenience, this service is available at select DMV branch offices, in addition to DMV hub offices. Learn more about our locations and the services we provide.
Steps to follow before you get a Connecticut license
  • Make sure your out-of-state license is current or hasn’t been expired for more than two years.
  • Take a vision test at one of our full service offices. Be sure to bring your glasses or wear your contact lenses for the appointment.
  • As a new Connecticut resident, you’re required to transfer your out-of-state vehicle registration to Connecticut within 90 days. Learn more about the process to transfer out-of-state registration.
Make an in-person appointment to transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut
Schedule now
chevron-down
  • How to transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut

How to transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut

Step 1: Gather what you’ll need
Special situations may require addition information.

 

Step 2: Make an appointment online

Make an appointment


Step 3: Get your license in the mail

Your Connecticut license arrives in the mail within 20 business days. Learn more about the Central Issuance process.

 

You can track the delivery of your new license online.

chevron-down
  • When you don’t need to transfer to a Connecticut License
  • Solutions to common problems
  • Transfer an out-of-state drive-only license
  • Transfer an out-of-state commercial driver’s license
  • Fees

When you don’t need to transfer to a Connecticut License

You’re not required to get a Connecticut license if:

  • You’re a full-time student who lives in Connecticut but you maintain an out-of-state or out-of-country permanent residence
  • You’re active-duty military personnel or a dependent of military personnel
  • You’re in the U.S. on a visitor’s visa

You may operate a vehicle in Connecticut for one year with a valid out-of-country license and an international driver permit (IDP) issued by your country of origin. Learn more about IDP requirements.

Solutions to common problems

If your out-of-state license is expired for more than two years:

Get a Connecticut state learner’s permit and complete an eight-hour safe driving practices course at a Connecticut-licensed driving school before you take a skills test at a DMV office.

 

If you lost your out-of-state license:

Get a certified copy of your out-of-state driving history record dated within 60 days. Your previous licensing state will be notified of your new Connecticut license and can cancel your old license.


If you’re under age 18 and have a driver’s license from another state:

In addition to the requirements for out-of-state license holders, if you’re under age 18 you need to complete the eight-hour safe driving practices class at a commercial driving school or secondary school in Connecticut, including the two-hour parent/legal guardian training.

Connecticut has passenger restrictions and other laws for newly licensed drivers age 16 and 17. Learn more at Teen Driver’s Center.

License holders under age 16 can’t transfer their license.


If you have a valid license from American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands or the U.S. Virgin Islands: 

In addition to the requirements for out-of-state license holders, you need to get a history of your driver record from your territory of origin before you can transfer your license to Connecticut.
We waive the requirement for active-duty military personnel (and their family members and dependents) to present an abstract when transferring a non-CDL license from Guam. The applicant's military identification or their family member's identification must be shown.


If you have a valid license from Puerto Rico:

The requirements for an out-of-state license holder apply. Your Puerto Rico license is verified with your home territory prior to the transfer. We provide you with a status update via mail that includes next steps.


If you have a valid license from Canada, Germany, or France:

The requirements for an out-of-state license apply.

Learn more about requirements for driver’s license holders from U.S. territories, Canada, Germany, France, or Puerto Rico.

Transfer an out-of-state drive-only license

Undocumented individuals who are age 16 and older who can’t establish their legal presence in the United States or may not have a Social Security Number can apply for a drive-only license. A drive-only license is not valid for federal identification purposes and can’t be used to vote.

 

However, you are currently NOT able to transfer your out-of-state drive-only license (or similar “driving privilege” license) to Connecticut. Learn how to apply for a Connecticut drive-only license.

Transfer an out-of-state commercial driver’s license

If you have a current out-of-state, commercial driver’s license (CDL), you’re required to apply for a Connecticut CDL within 30 days of your residency in Connecticut.

If your out-of-state CDL license is lost, you can apply for a duplicate through your prior state. If you’re unable to get a duplicate there, you can re-test in Connecticut to get your CDL.   You can usually get a Connecticut CDL of equal class without testing. Exceptions include the school bus endorsement (“S”) and hazardous material (hazmat) endorsement ("H”).

 

To complete the process, make an appointment and present these documents:

1. Your current out-of-state CDL

A CDL isn’t issued if the operator’s privileges are suspended in any state. A driving history of your current out-of-state CDL is not acceptable. You need to surrender your out-of-state license.  

  • Note: A CDL from Puerto Rico cannot be transferred to Connecticut. To get your Connecticut CDL license, you can downgrade to a Class D license and go through all of the testing/permit requirements.

2. Your certified birth certificate or valid passport

Hospital birth certificate or photocopies aren’t accepted. Please see more detailed information on acceptable forms of identification.  

  • Note: Hospital-issued and Puerto Rico-issued documents prior to July 1, 2010, are no longer acceptable. A U.S. birth certificate with foreign place of birth must also be accompanied by a U.S. passport or passport card, or certificate of citizenship.

3. Your Social Security card

Bring your social security card (laminated or metal cards are not accepted) or your most recent W-2 form.

 

4. Verification of Connecticut resident address

The DMV requires two forms of address verification like a mortgage statement, bank statement, or utility bill. A post office box address is not acceptable.


5. Medical certification with the DMV

Bring a current, legible, unexpired medical certificate completed by a Certified Medical Examiner.


6. Application for Commercial driver’s license (R-229a).

Request this form to be mailed to you.


7. Self-certification with DMV

You need to have a self-certification status in your previous state of record before you can apply to transfer your out-of-state CDL. Connecticut CDL holders may self-certify online.


8. Application fee

The fee for a CDL Change State of Record is $70 or $87.50, determined by the license duration. Visit acceptable forms of payment at DMV office locations.


Note:

If you are not a U.S. citizen, proof of legal status in this country is required.

 

Once all documentation is submitted, you can take your vision test.

 

You don’t receive a permanent CDL while at a DMV office. It will arrive through the mail within 20 business days. You can keep your expiring license or ID and will receive a temporary paper card at your appointment. For more on this, please contact Central Issuance.

 

After you visit an office, you can track the delivery of your new card.

 

Fees

Application fee: $40
License fee: $84 

 

Acceptable forms of payment

Please review acceptable forms of payment, which may vary by location.

 

Note:
If you pay by check, please bring two separate checks for each fee made out to “DMV.”