Request a driving record

View and print a certified driving history or driving record

Request a driving record

View and print a certified driving history or driving record
Why you may need driving records

You can request certified copies of a driving history, sometimes referred to as an “abstract” or “driving record,” from the DMV. 

Your driving history, or driving record, includes information about you as a driver, such as:

  • Any convictions of moving violations
  • Any points against your license
  • Any specific endorsements or restrictions

Your driving history is used by law enforcement officers, insurance companies, and employers.  
 
To get the driving history of another person, you will need to request it by mail. See below for details on that process.

Estimated time to request your driving history online: 5-7 minutes
Request now
chevron-down
  • Who's eligible to request a driving record
  • How to get your driving record
  • Fees
  • Receipt

Who's eligible to request a driving record

Most current or past Connecticut driver’s license holders can request their own driving history online. License holders can request their own medical certificate as well at no additional cost before they complete this transaction online.

To get the driving history for another person, please see details on how to request it by mail.

How to get your driving record

Step 1: Gather what you’ll need
  • Your first and last name exactly as it appears on your current driver's license
  • Your date of birth
  • Your street address
  • Your driver’s license number
  • Your Social Security Number
  • A credit or debit card

Step 2: Request your driving history online


Get started

 

Step 3: Download your driving history

A copy of driving history will be available to download and can be printed at your convenience.

 

Please note: Your driving history will be accessible for 30 days for no additional fee.

Fees

  • Fee to request a driving history: $20
  • Refunds will not be given unless permitted under law

Receipt

Are you looking to access a receipt for a previously completed online transaction? Receipts can be requested online for transactions processed after May 24, 2021.

chevron-down
  • Who’s eligible
  • How to
  • Fees

Who’s eligible

Most current or past Connecticut driver’s license holders can request a certified copy of their own driving history in person by appointment. Make an appointment at a DMV location specified below.

 

You may only request the driving history of another person by mail—see details.

How to

Step 1: Print and complete documents

Fill out a records request (Form J-23) and:

  • Check the box to request driving history
  • Fill in section 1 and sign the application
  • Indicate applicable code on page 2 of the form (code 10 should be used when requesting a copy of your own driving history) 
  • Complete the "applicant" section at the bottom of the form and be sure to include your phone number
Step 2: Bring a photo ID to your appointment

Bring an original version of your driver license, non-driver identification card, or passport.


Step 3: Make an appointment

Make an appointment at one of these locations:

  • Stamford DMV office
  • Milford Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union
  • North Haven Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union
  • Norwalk Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union
  • Participating AAA office

Fees

The fee to request a driving history is $20. Please review acceptable forms of payment

 

Additional fees

AAA offices and Nutmeg Financial Credit Union locations may charge a convenience fee of up to $8 per DMV transaction.

chevron-down
  • Who’s eligible
  • How to
  • Fees

Who’s eligible

Most current or past Connecticut driver’s license holders can request a certified copy of their own driving history. 

You can also request another person’s driving history under some circumstances. Please see page 2 of the records request (Form J-23) for more information about requesting someone else’s driving history.

How to

Step 1: Print and complete forms

Complete a records request (Form J-23) and: 

  • Check the box requesting driving history.
  • Fill in section 1 and sign the application.
  • Indicate applicable code (see codes 1-10 on page 2 of the form; code 10 should only be used to request a copy of your own driving history)
  • Complete the "applicant" section at bottom of the form and be sure to include your telephone number.

Step 2: Pay your fees

Include a check payable to "DMV" in the amount of $20.


Step 3: Include a copy of the requestor’s photo identification

This could be a copy of a driver’s license, non-driver ID, or passport.

 

Step 4: Mail the items

Mail the completed form, check, and copy of the photo identification to:

 

Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
Attention: Copy Record


Step 5: Get the driving history in the mail

You receive a certified copy of the driving history you request approximately 2-3 weeks after the DMV receives your request.

Fees

The fee to request a driving history is $20. Please review acceptable forms of payment, and note that any checks should be made payable to “DMV.”