Steps for CDL self-certification
Federal law requires every commercial driver’s license-holder or commercial learner’s permit-holder to self-certify as to driving type. See steps below for how you can complete this certification online through the DMV’s self-certification system.
Step 1: Go to the DMV’s online self-certification system and follow the prompts. Use the self-certification driving types guide below to identify how to certify yourself.
Step 2: Print out the email confirmation you receive from the DMV and bring it with you to a DMV office to:
- Apply for a new CDL
- Renew a CDL
- Apply for an upgrade to a higher-class CDL
- Apply for a new endorsement
- Transfer a CDL from another state
- Change your driving type
CDL self-certification driving types
Category 1: (NI) Non-excepted interstate: Operation of a commercial motor vehicle both in and outside the boundaries of Connecticut. This category is for drivers 21 years of age or older that do not have or require a "K" or "W" restriction on their Commercial Driver's License.
Applies if any commercial motor vehicle you drive crosses the Connecticut state line into New York, Massachusetts, or Rhode Island, at any time you are on the interstate, including for purchasing of fuel or picking up occasional loads.
Category 2: (NA) Non-excepted intrastate: Operation of a commercial motor vehicle only within the boundaries of Connecticut. This category is for drivers meeting any of the following conditions:
- Under 21 years of age, or
- Maintaining or requiring a medical waiver "W" restriction on their Commercial Driver's License, or
- Choosing to add or maintain an intrastate-only "K" restriction on their Commercial Driver's License.