Get a drive-only license

The drive-only license program aims to improve public safety and ensure that all drivers understand the rules of the road

Get a drive-only license

The drive-only license program aims to improve public safety and ensure that all drivers understand the rules of the road

About the program

The drive-only license is designed specifically for undocumented individuals who are 16 years of age or older and unable to establish lawful presence in the United States.


Note: A drive-only license is not valid for federal identification purposes and can’t be used to vote.

Please note:
  • This website can be translated into other languages by choosing a language from the drop-down menu.
  • The Connecticut drive-only license may be honored in other states. However, you should check with the other state before driving in it.

What you need to know

Appointments are required for all tests.

  • How can I get a drive-only license?
  • Out-of-state transfer
  • Replacing a drive-only license
  • Fees

How can I get a drive-only license?

  1. Collect your documents. Use the drive-only document checklist for reference (English version (PDF) | Spanish version (PDF). If your documents are in a language other than English, they need to be translated by a DMV-approved translator
  2. Study for the learner’s permit knowledge test.
  3. Make your appointment online for knowledge and vision tests.   
  4. Pay the fee online when making your appointment. Also, you need to sign an affidavit stating that you have filed or will file, as soon as you are eligible, an application to legalize your immigration status.  
  5. Bring required documents to your test appointment. 
  6. Your learner’s permit will be mailed to you upon completion of your tests; you can practice driving once you receive your permit. 
  7. Meet driver training requirements with learner permit. The requirements vary depending on your age:  
  8. Schedule your road test using DMV's new online appointment system. Learn more about the road test
  9. Pass your road test, pay the $36 license fee, and DMV will mail you your drive-only license.

Out-of-state transfer

Currently, the DMV doesn’t accept out-of-state transfers of drive-only licenses or similar “driving privilege” licenses. You will need to follow the steps on this page to apply for a new drive-only Connecticut license.

Replacing a drive-only license

If your drive-only license is lost or stolen, you must visit a DMV office and pay the duplicate license fee.  

This service is not offered at DMV express offices, such as AAA locations and Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union offices.


  • Testing fee: $40 (paid online when making appointment) 
  • Learner's permit fee: $19 (paid online when making appointment) 
  • Drive-only license fee: $36 for a three-year license (paid separately)  
  • Driving school fees vary depending on school and training needed. Learn more about driving school locations
  • Who’s eligible
  • Can I get a motorcycle permit with a drive-only license?
  • What’s the refund policy?

Who’s eligible

You are not eligible to apply for a drive-only license if you have a felony in Connecticut or if you committed identity fraud at the Connecticut DMV.

Can I get a motorcycle permit with a drive-only license?

Once you receive your drive-only license, you may apply for a motorcycle permit.

What’s the refund policy?

Refunds will not be given if you:

  • Are missing documents at the time of your DMV test appointment
  • Have failed the knowledge or vision test
  • Have failed the Connecticut driving or the criminal histories background check
  • Drive-only license background checks

Drive-only license background checks

After scheduling your appointment, your record will be reviewed. We will check for outstanding driving suspensions or rejected license issues in Connecticut and possession of fake or fraudulent licenses or ID cards. We also will do a criminal background check for felony conviction(s) in Connecticut.


If you have been convicted of a felony in Connecticut, you will not be eligible for a drive-only license.


If DMV finds an issue with your Connecticut driving record, you will be notified and instructed how to resolve these issues through the e-mail address you provided. You must resolve these issues prior to your appointment. 

You may also view information related to driving suspension issues.


No refunds will be provided to applicants who scheduled an appointment and must reschedule or cancel due to a suspension, revocation, or criminal issue.

Judicial Record Check

DMV will check whether you have been convicted of any felonies in Connecticut by searching the electronic criminal record system of the Connecticut Judicial Department. If you have not been convicted of a felony, the DMV will mail you the learner’s permit within 30 days once all requirements have been satisfied.


If you believe that you have a felony conviction, please confirm via the State of Connecticut Judicial Branch site.