Deadlines Extended Due to COVID-19
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, with the approval of Governor Ned Lamont, has extended deadlines for Connecticut residents with expiring credentials.
Eligible DMV credentials that expire between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020 are extended 180 days.
Eligible DMV credentials that expire between July 1, 2020 and July 31, 2020 are extended 90 days.
In addition to extending the expiration date of DMV credentials, late fees associated with eligible expired credentials will be waived during the time period of the extension for qualifying credentials.
Deadlines have been extended for the following DMV-related items:
- All Licenses, Permits and Identification Cards
- All Registrations Including International Registration Plan (IRP) and Boat Registrations
- Emissions Testing and Retesting
- Permanent Disability Placard - Any permanent disability placard that expires at the same time as a credential that is subject to an extension, will be extended.
- Business Licenses
- Temporary Registrations
- Temporary (Paper) Licenses
- Flashing Light Permits
- New Residents - For any person who moved to Connecticut after March 10, 2020, the deadline for obtaining a license, registration or emissions inspection in Connecticut will be extended by 180 days.
- Suspension Related Matters - Suspensions that take effect between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020 will be delayed by 180 days as a result of failure to attend an Operator Retraining or Child Safety Seat Program, or nonpayment of fees due to a returned check or rejected payment.
- VIN Verification - Waived until September 10, 2020.
- School Bus Proficiency Tests (renewals only)
- Ignition Interlock Devices - Waives violations and penalties associated with failing to meet 30-day recalibration of ignition interlock devices until September 10, 2020.
- Amended Order and Notice of Extension of Motor Vehicle Registrations and Other Transactions – For credentials expiring between March 10, 2020 – June 30, 2020.
- Amended Order and Notice Extension of Expiration Date or Period of Validity of Licenses, Permits and Identity Cards Issued by the State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles - For credentials expiring between March 10, 2020 – June 30, 2020
- Order and Notice of Extension of Licenses, Permits, Identity Cards, Disability Placards, Motor Vehicle and Boat Registrations, Emissions Tests or Retests, Business Licenses, Flashing Light Permits and School Bus Proficiency Tests – For credentials expiring between July 1, 2020 and July 31, 2020.
Formal Documents Explaining the Extended Deadlines:
- Formal documentation for consumers who have credentials expiring between March 10, 2020 – June 30, 2020.
- Formal documentation for consumers who have credentials expiring between July 1, 2020 – July 31, 2020.
For answers to questions, updates or more information about the credential extensions:
- Call 860-263-5700 (within the Hartford area) or 1-800-842-8222 (outside the Hartford area)
The extensions are intended to help safeguard the general public against the spread of coronavirus/COVID-19 and to maintain social distance within offices. For up-to-date guidance on COVID-19 please visit ct.gov/coronavirus.