Stay informed about coronavirus (COVID-19):
Connecticut residents are urged to continue taking precautions to prevent the spread of COVID-19. For the latest information, visit
ct.gov/coronavirus

Vessel registration renewal

Renew your vessel registration online

Vessel registration renewal

Renew your vessel registration online
Estimated time to renew vessel registration online: 7 minutes
Get Started

Your options to renew

  • Online
  • In Person
  • By Mail
chevron-down
  • Who's eligible
  • How To
  • Fees
  • Receipt
person outline

person outline Who's eligible

Boat owners with a Connecticut driver's license or non-driver ID card can renew the boat’s registration certificate online, except for the situations listed below.


You cannot renew online if any of the following scenarios are true for you

  • You have any outstanding property tax obligations.
  • Your vessel/boat requires additional documents and will continue to be processed by mail. This includes no fee renewals.
  • There is a discrepancy with the make or vessel type on my renewal notice. DMV will gladly make the correction and mail you a new invitation. Please email the boating unit dmvMOD@ct.gov In the subject line, enter BOAT and the CT number.
  • Organizations who own a boat cannot renew online.
person outline

person outline How To


Step 1: Gather what you'll need

  • Your first and last name exactly as it appears on your Connecticut driver's license or non-driver ID card
  • Your date of birth
  • Your street address on your driver's license or non-driver ID card
  • Your CT Boat number and Hull Identification Number (HIN)
  • Your social security number
  • A credit or debit card
Step 2: Renew online

Get Started

 

Step 3: Get final document and decal in the mail

Your documents will arrive through the mail within 7-10 days.

cash outline

cash outline Fees

Your renewal letter will indicate the registration fee. The fee for boat registration renewal is based on the length of the vessel.

Renewal Fees:

  • Refunds will not be given unless permitted under law
  • AIS Fee: An Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Stamp fee of $5.00 will be collected from any person who registers or renews a registration of a boat, vessel or jet ski in Connecticut.
receipt-outline

receipt-outline Receipt

Are you looking to access a receipt for a previously completed online transaction? Receipts can be requested online for transactions processed after 5/24/2021. Click here to get your receipt.

 

chevron-down
  • Who's eligible
  • How To
  • Fees
person outline

person outline Who's eligible


Boat owners who received an invitation to renew the boat’s registration certificate, except for the situations listed below.  

You cannot renew in-person if any of the following scenarios are true for you:

  • You have any outstanding property tax obligations.
  • Your vessel/boat requires additional documents and will continue to be processed by mail.
  • There is a discrepancy with the make or vessel type on my renewal notice. DMV will gladly make the correction and mail you a new invitation. Please email the boating unit dmvMOD@ct.gov In the subject line, enter BOAT and the CT number.
person outline

person outline How To


Step 1: Gather what you’ll need

  • Your driver’s license / Non-Driver ID Card
  • Your boat registration invitation to renew
  • An acceptable forms of payment
Step 2: Make an Appointment at a DMV office

Make an appointment


cash outline

cash outline Fees


Your renewal letter will indicate the registration fee. The fee for boat registration renewal is based on the length of the vessel.

  • Refunds will not be given unless permitted under law

AIS Fee:

An Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Stamp fee of $5.00 will be collected from any person who registers or renews a registration of a boat, vessel or jet ski in Connecticut.

chevron-down
  • Who's eligible
  • How To
  • Fees
person outline

person outline Who's eligible


Boat owners who received an invitation to renew the boat’s registration certificate, except for the situations listed below. If you did not receive an invitation, you may be able to renew online.


You cannot renew by mail if any of the following scenarios are true for you:

  • You did not receive your invitation to renew your boat registration for the up-coming year. DMV will mail you a new invitation to renew. Please email the Boating Unit at dmvMOD@ct.gov. In the subject line, enter BOAT and the CT number.
  • You have any outstanding property tax obligations.
  • There is a discrepancy with the make or vessel type on my renewal notice. DMV will gladly make the correction and mail you a new invitation. Please email the boating unit dmvMOD@ct.gov. In the subject line, enter BOAT and the CT number.
person outline

person outline How To


Step 1: Prepare your envelope

  • Follow instructions on the invitation
  • Detach bottom part of invitation and put in envelope
  • Prepare check or money order to include for the fee listed on invitation

Step 2: Mail your envelope

Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT  06109
Attention:  Central Issuance Operations Unit


Step 3: Get final document and decal in the mail

Your documents will arrive through the mail within 20 days.


cash outline

cash outline Fees


Your renewal letter will indicate the registration fee. The fee for boat registration renewal is based on the length of the vessel.

  • Refunds will not be given unless permitted under law

AIS Fee:

An Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Stamp fee of $5.00 will be collected from any person who registers or renews a registration of a boat, vessel or jet ski in Connecticut.