Frequently Asked Questions on DMV Fees
I am purchasing a vehicle from a dealership. Are "processing" or "conveyance" fees mandated by the Connecticut DMV?
No. See more information about "Dealer Conveyance Fees" and "Dealer Processing Fees."
What forms of payment are acceptable at DMV Offices?
Acceptable forms of payment vary depending on the DMV office location. Please see Acceptable forms of Payment for more information.
How much will it cost to obtain license plates and register my vehicle in Connecticut?
Registration fees vary depending on the type of vehicle being registered. Please see Registration Fees for more information.
What additional fees will I have to pay when I register my vehicle?
In addition to the registration fee, you will also pay a title fee of $25 (if applicable), license plate fee of $5, and any applicable sales tax. Please see Registration Fees for more information.
How much will it cost to renew my vehicle registration?
The renewal fee for a passenger registration is $80 for two years plus $10 for the Clean Air Act fee. An individual 65 years old or older can request a one-year renewal for $45. For fees other than passenger registrations, please see Registration Fees. Beginning in 2018, there will be additional Passport to Parks fee. The fee is $5 per year, which means $10 for the customary two-year registration renewal for all non-commercial motor vehicles.
How much will it cost to transfer my vehicle to a family member?
The fee to transfer the registration is $20. This is allowed between members of the immediate family only. In addition, there is a title fee of $25 (if applicable).
How much will it cost to transfer my plates to a new/used vehicle that I have purchased?
The fee to transfer plates to a different vehicle is $21, plus a title fee of $25 (if applicable). If there is any change in names (adding/removing), there will be an additional fee of $20. In most cases, Connecticut sales tax (6.35%) is also applicable.
How much does it cost to obtain a Connecticut driver’s license?
The fee for a six year driver license is $72. Please see Driver's License Fees for information on any related fees.
How much will it cost to renew my driver’s license?
For detailed information, please see fees for operator licenses.
How much does it cost for a duplicate license?
The fee for a duplicate license is $30. Please see How to Replace a Lost, Stolen or Damaged License for additional requirements.
I have misplaced my title. How much will it cost for a replacement?
The fee for a duplicate title is $25 and you will be required to fill out an Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title (form H-6B).