Connecticut Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Program

Learn more about the CT IID Program and its requirements

Connecticut Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Program

Learn more about the CT IID Program and its requirements

CT Ignition Interlock Device (IID) overview

What is an IID?
An Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is a device installed in a motor vehicle to prohibit an individual under the influence of alcohol or drugs from operating it. You need to blow into the IID before starting the vehicle, and if the device detects alcohol or drugs, the vehicle won’t start.

Drivers with an IID installed are prompted to blow into the device at random times. This is known as a rolling retest. It ensures that they’re not under the influence while driving.

Suspensions that lead to IIDs
If your Connecticut driver’s license is suspended for any of the following offenses, you’ll be required to install an IID in order to reinstate (or “restore”) your license:
• Failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test
• Operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs
• Committing vehicular manslaughter
• Committing vehicular assault

Learn more about license suspensions and other penalties.

How to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed

Step 1
Contact one of the Connecticut-approved IID vendors to schedule an appointment to have the IID installed. The vendor will notify the DMV once the IID is installed.


Step 2
Pay the associated fees online, or by check or money order made out to “DMV.”

  • License reinstatement fee: $175
  • IID Administration fee: $100

We encourage you to install your IID and pay your fees to DMV at least 10 days prior to your eligibility date. If you pay fees by mail, your fees should be submitted 20 days prior to your eligibility date.


How to get your license back


Step 1
Be sure to check if you have any other license-related suspensions. Suspensions need to be resolved before your license is reinstated.


Step 2
After all reinstatement requirements are met and you have served your suspension time, your license is reinstated with the IID requirement. A final approval letter/restoration notice with the IID program rules will be mailed to you. You may only operate/drive a vehicle equipped with an IID for the duration required.


Please note: The IID requirement starts the date your license is restored, NOT the date that you had the device installed.


Step 3
You need to have a current, valid driver’s license before driving. If you’re issued a Connecticut non-driver photo ID card during your suspension, you will need to exchange that ID for your previously-held Connecticut driver's license.


IIDs for out-of-state drivers


If you hold an out-of-state driver’s license or registration, you must verify with the state that it’s valid before you drive. If you’re now a Connecticut resident, you’ll need to transfer your out of state license to Connecticut.


CT Ignition Interlock Device Program FAQs