Operator Retraining Program
and Multiple Moving Violations
Effective Immediately: Operator Retraining Program suspensions that are due to take effect between March 10, 2020 and June 8, 2020 will be extended by ninety (90) days.
The following drivers are required to complete an Operator Retraining Program:
- A driver 24 years of age or younger who has two moving violations or suspension violations specified in Connecticut General Statute section 14-111g(a) on his or her driving record.
- A driver 25 years of age or older who has three moving violations or suspension violations specified in Connecticut General Statute Section 14-111g(a) on his or her driving record.
- A driver who has been convicted of traveling faster than 75 mph in a highway work zone.
- A driver of a commercial motor vehicle who is convicted of traveling faster than 65 mph in a highway work zone.
- A driver who has been convicted of a violation of Connecticut General Statute Section 14-224(c).
To enroll in the Operator Retraining Program, please contact one of the vendors listed below:
|Classes in Connecticut||Classes in Connecticut and Out of State|
A Better Connecticut Driver
|National Safety Council
|Driver Education Station
|National Traffic Safety Institute
After you complete the Operator Retraining Class:
- If the class is completed prior to the effective date of suspension, the suspension will be removed only after the DMV receives confirmation of the class completion from the vendor.
- To avoid suspension you must schedule and complete your class at least 2 weeks prior to the effective suspension date, as the vendor may take that time to submit results.
- If the class is completed on or after the effective date of suspension you must also pay a $175.00 restoration fee. The fee may be paid online. Alternately, you may pay the $175.00 by check or money order made payable to "DMV" by mail to the following address:
State of Connecticut
Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-1013
Please provide your name, date of birth, and current address with all correspondence.
Moving Violations after completion of the Operator Retraining Class:
- After completion of an Operator Retraining Program, you must complete 36 consecutive months without having any additional moving violations or suspension violations specified in Connecticut General Statute Section 14-111g(a) added to your driving history.
- If an additional moving violation is added to your driving record, DMV will suspend your driver's license or operating privilege for 30 days for the first violation, 60 days for a second violation, and 90 days for a third or subsequent violation. To be reinstated after the suspension, you must pay a $175.00 restoration fee.