Registration Renewal Compliance Messages
and Other Requirements
Please review the information below for the type of registration that you are renewing.
Some compliance issues pertain to all registrations while others pertain to specific types of registrations.
Issues that pertain to most registrations:
Delinquent Property Tax – DMV will no longer accept paper tax releases beginning November 16, 2015. Your tax collector will need to clear you online. If you are reported to the DMV in regards to your delinquent taxes, please contact your tax town/city.
Emissions Testing – All vehicles must be in compliance with emission testing, unless exempt, before a registration can be renewed. The registrant may be subject to an emissions late fee which will be billed separately. The registration will not be valid until the emissions test is completed and all fees are paid. For more information on emissions requirements and exemptions please see http://www.ctemissions.com/
Emissions Late Fee - If you were more than 30 consecutive calendar days late for your vehicle's scheduled test date, or more than 60 calendar days late for its free retest date, you will be required to pay a $20 late fee. Late fees due for all owned vehicles must be paid before any additional registrations or renewals can be processed. Late fees are not paid at the test centers, but may be included in your registration renewal fees, depending on processing time.
Federal Clean Air Act - The Federal Clean Air Act Fee is applicable to all new registrations as well as the renewal of registrations. The fee is $10 for a two year regsitration or $5 for a one year registration. The fee does not apply to registrations that are No Fee such as Municipal and Prisoner of War and does not apply to trailers and boats.
Heavy Vehicle Use Tax Receipt (HVUT) - Proof of IRS payment of HVUT (IRS 2290 Schedule 1) must be submitted with payment of the registration renewal for vehicles that are 55,000 lbs or more gross vehicle weight (GVW). This special federal highway use tax is payable to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) by filing form no. 2290 (IRS E-filing). Acceptable proof of payment is a copy of IRS form 2290 receipted for payment by IRS listing the vehicle ID number for which tax was paid. The registrant is required to file with the IRS by the end of the month following the month of the first registration for the vehicle and each year thereafter at renewal time.
Insurance - Insurance required by CT law must be maintained for the entire registration period. Failure to maintain insurance may result in suspension of registration privileges. Most classes of registration have a mandatory insurance requirement.
Leased to the State of Connecticut – If a vehicle is owned by or leased to a Connecticut State agency it is exempt from property tax and registration fee. Submission of a letter from the State agency on the agency's letterhead to verify ownership or that the lease is still in effect is required with the renewal.
Military – Active Duty personnel and veterans who have been honorably separated within the past two years may be exempt from registration renewal fees. The military member must submit a completed form B276 and required documentation for a waiver of the renewal fee. If the registrant is no longer eligible for fee waiver, please contact DMV at 860-263-5718 to determine renewal fee.
Registration Renewal Late Fee - An additional $10 late fee is charged if the registration is not received and processed by DMV within five (5) days of the expiration date of the current registration. The late fee should be included with your renewal payment if mailing on or after the expiration date. Five business days are needed for mailing time. Camp trailers are NOT subject to late fees.
Unpaid Parking Tickets - If your renewal application shows unpaid parking violations you must present proof of payment before your renewal can be processed. Proof of payment is a special receipt from the municipality. This applies to all registrations except boats and snowmobiles.
65 years old or more - If the registrant is 65 years of age or older they may renew a passenger motor vehicle for one year for $50 or two years for $100. If a pickup truck is registered with a passenger plate the pick-up truck may be renewed for one year at one-half the normal renewal fee or two years for the full amount shown on the renewal application. This change can only be done by mail.
Issues that pertain to specific types of registrations:
Ambulance – A photocopy of the EMS-DMV inspection report (form R-195) showing that the ambulance has passed an inspection after April 1st of the previous year is required to renew an ambulance registration.
Combination Registration Fees - If the renewal application for a Combination class registration is missing information necessary to determine the fee you must complete the missing information on the application and check the Combination fee chart for the correct two year renewal fee. Note: The Clean Air Act fee of $10 and any late fees must be added to the two year combination registration fee.
Combination/Student Transportation Vehicle (STV) – A photocopy of passed STV inspection dated within the past 12 months must be submitted with the renewal application. Special insurance (# MC1641b) or a current CT insurance card must also be on file at DMV, for verification of insurance filing call (860) 263-5152.
Commercial Registration Fees - If the renewal application for a Commercial class registration is missing information necessary to determine the fee you must complete the missing information on the application and check the Commercial fee chart for the correct annual renewal fee. Note: The Clean Air Act fee of $5 and any late fees must be added to the annual registration fee.
Experimental - Special insurance must be on file at DMV. To verify the insurance filing call 860-263-5152.
Factory – Renewal of a factory registration requires a D.O.T. permit (form PMT-17) showing footage allowed for this vehicle.
Farm – The Farmers Sales Tax Exempt Permit number (Department of revenue Services form R-657) must be submitted with the return stub of your registration renewal application.
General Distinguishing Bus - (1) Must be approved by D.O.T. Bureau of Public Transportation, Motor Transport Services Division, Room 1123, 2800 Berlin Turnpike,
Interstate Bus – (1). Must be approved by D.O.T. Bureau of Public Transportation, Motor Transport Services Division, Room 1123, 2800 Berlin Turnpike,
Livery/Public Service vehicle - Special Insurance (form #MC1641b) or a current CT insurance card must be on file at DMV, for verification call 860-263-5152. If you are renewing a school transportation vehicle an STV inspection report must be submitted.
Passenger Plates on Pick-up Trucks – Pick-up trucks that are registered with a PASSENGER registration cannot be used for commercial purposes. (Gross Vehicle Weight Rating cannot exceed 8,500 lbs.) If the registered Gross Vehicle Weight is more than 7,500 lbs. the vehicle may not be operated on Merritt and Wilbur Cross Parkways.
School Bus or School Bus/Livery – Renewal of a school bus requires the submission of a clear copy of a passed vehicle inspection report performed by DMV and dated no earlier than Sept. 1st of previous year. Call 860-263-5446 to make an appointment for inspection. In addition, Special Insurance (form #MC1641b) or a current CT insurance card must be on file at DMV, for verification call 860-263-5152. Original inspection reports will not be returned. Inspection reports indicating that defects were found, must be repaired by the carrier and properly signed off as repaired prior to submitting the inspection report as part of the renewal. If your vehicle has not been inspected since September 1st of last year, please contact the Commercial Vehicle Safety Division - Student Transportation Unit - at 860-263-5446 to set up an inspection as soon as possible. School Buses must have special insurance (form # MC1641b) on file at DMV. To verify the insurance filing call 860-263-5152.
Service Bus – Renewal of a Service Bus registration requires the submission of a clear copy of passed inspection (form R361) by a licensed dealer or repairer dated no earlier than Sept. 1st of previous year. In addition, special insurance (form #MC1641b) or a current CT insurance card must be on file at DMV, for verification call 860-263-5152.
Special Mobile Equipment – The gross vehicle weight (gvwr), light weight and number of axles is required on a Special Mobile Equipment vehicle. If any of this information is missing please complete the information on the renewal application. To calculate the fee: (Minimum fee is $22.00). Fees are 1/2 the commercial fee and are based on gvw. Compute fee and divide result by 2. You must also add $5.00 for the Clean Air Act and another $10.00 for the Transportation Strategy Board Projects account for each vehicle. GVW 20,000 lbs or less: $1.16 for every 100 lbs gross weight or fraction thereof. 20,001 - 30,000 lbs: $1.42 for every 100 lbs gross weight or fraction thereof. 30,001 - 73,000 lbs: $1.77 for every 100 lbs gross weight or fraction thereof. over 73,000 lbs : $1.92 for every 100 lbs gross weight or fraction thereof. Vehicles with a gvw of 55,000 lbs or over will not be renewed unless proof of payment of the Heavy Vehicle Use Tax is presented.
State Service Bus – Renewal of a State Service Bus registration requires the submission of a clear copy of passed inspection report by DMV dated no earlier than Sept. 1st of previous year. If needed, call 860-263-5446 to make an appointment for inspection. DMV inspection lanes are located at the
Taxi – A clear photocopy of passed inspection (form R361 Licensed Dealer/Repairer Inspection Report) performed by an independent licensed dealer or repairer not legally associated with the taxi business dated after December 31st of the previous year must be submitted for renewal. In addition, Special Insurance (# MC1641b) or a current CT insurance card must be on file at DMV. For verification call (860) 263-5152. To verify the insurance filing call 860-263-5152. A vehicle first registered as a TAXI on or after April 1, 2001 will not be subsequently renewed if it is older than ten (10) model years of age at time of renewal.
Van Pool - Special insurance must be on file at DMV for the renewal of Van Pool registrations. To verify the insurance filing, please call 860-263-5152.
Wrecker - Print your current Dealer or Repairer license number on the return stub (bottom portion) of the registration renewal application form above the area used for address changes.