Renewing a Non-Driver Photo ID
***EXTENSION OFFERED: DMV is offering extensions to Connecticut residents with expiring driver’s licenses, ID cards and learner’s permit’s. No late fees will be assessed for eligible credentials. Learn more.
Credentials that expire between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020 are automatically extended by 180-days.
Credentials that expire between July 1, 2020 and September 30, 2020 are automatically extended by 90-days.
The renewal notice (if available).
Your current non-driver ID card, which must be presented. If the ID card has been lost you must present one additional form of identification from the list of acceptable forms of identification.
- If you have had a name change since your ID card was issued you must present an original or certified copy of a: marriage license; civil union certificate; divorce decree; or a probate court name change document to verify the name change.
NOTE: AAA locations, Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union and West Haven City may charge a convenience fee up to $8.00 per DMV transaction.
- Applicants of a homeless shelter who provide proof of residency from an authorized shelter or transitional housing location in Connecticut. The identification card application (form B-230) must be signed by an official from the shelter or transitional housing location.
- Blind veterans who provide a Certificate of Blindness form from the Bureau of Education and Services for the Blind or a letter from a doctor/optometrist that they meet the definition of blind as defined in Connecticut General Statutes 1-1f(a) and provide a DD214 indicating they have been honorably discharged.
You will not receive a permanent driver license or ID card while at a DMV service office. It will arrive through the mail. You may retain your expiring license or ID provided there are no changes other than address. For more on this, please see Central Issuance. After visiting an office, you can track the delivery of your new card.