How to complete the program
To enroll in the Operator Retraining Program, please contact one of the vendors listed below:
A Better Connecticut Driver
Driver Education Station
In Connecticut & Out of State
National Safety Council
National Traffic Safety Institute
When you enroll in a program, keep in mind:
- The vendor may charge a fee of up to $85.
- The DMV does not schedule classes or collect the fee from you to attend the Operator Retraining Program.
- If the class is taken outside of Connecticut, you must request that the vendor send confirmation of program completion to the Connecticut DMV.
- Only an electronic confirmation from the vendor can be accepted as proof of completion.
After you complete the Operator Retraining Program:
- If you complete the program before the effective date of your suspension, the vendor needs to submit confirmation of completion to DMV. Once we receive this confirmation, we will remove your suspension.
- Avoid your suspension by scheduling and finishing your program early. Complete the course at least two weeks before your effective suspension date. The vendor will have enough time to submit your results to the DMV. We can then remove your suspension on time.
- If you complete your program on or after the effective date of suspension, you must pay a $175 reinstatement fee. The fee may be paid online or with a check or money order made payable to "DMV" mailed to the following address:
State of Connecticut
Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-1013
Please provide your name, date of birth, and current address with all correspondence.
Please note: You are not permitted to drive a motor vehicle until your driving privilege is reinstated and you have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit in your possession. After your credential has been reinstated, a notice of restoration will be mailed to you.
Check the status of a Connecticut license.
Moving violations after completion of the Operator Retraining Class:
- After you’ve completed an Operator Retraining Program, you must complete 36 consecutive months without having any additional moving violations or suspension violations added to your driving history as specified in Connecticut General Statute Section 14-111g(a).
- If an additional moving violation is added to your driving record, the DMV will suspend your driver's license or operating privilege for 30 days for the first violation, 60 days for a second violation, and 90 days for a third or subsequent violation. To be reinstated after the suspension, you must pay a $175 restoration fee.
- When your license is reinstated after all subsequent license suspension, the 36 months of having no moving violations starts again.