DMV is open by appointment only. Return to our homepage to schedule an appointment or to view online services.

Please note: Anyone entering any DMV location will be required to wear a facial covering. This includes anyone taking a road skills test.

STAND DOWN 2021: CT DMV will provide in-person services for military veterans on Friday, Sept. 24 at Stand Down hosted by the state Department of Veterans Affairs. Click here for details.

Driver Training Requirements

16-and 17-Year-Olds

You must be 16 years old before beginning driver education.

If you obtained a learner's permit, the following training may be combined to meet the requirements:

Commercial Driving School

Secondary School Driver Education

Home Training

30 hours classroom training at a commercial or secondary driving school, which includes the Safe Driving Practices course and 2 hours of parent training

30 hours classroom training at a commercial or secondary driving school, which includes the Safe Driving Practices course and 2 hours of parent training

22 hour classroom training, plus:

8-hour Safe Driving Practices course at commercial or secondary school which includes 2 hour parent/legal guardian training

40 hours practice driving*

40 hours practice driving*

40 hours practice driving*

*40 hour practice driving (behind-the-wheel) may be given by any combination of commercial/secondary/parent instruction.

  • Learner permit holders are eligible to apply for a driver license after they have held the permit for at least 120 or 180 days.
  • You must receive at least 30 hours classroom and 8 hours behind-the-wheel practice driving with a CT licensed commercial or secondary driving school to be eligible to take the test after holding the permit for only 120 days.

Home Training:  

The driving practice must be given by a Qualified Trainer. 

  • Qualified Trainers (eligible to train and sign a form under penalty of false statement attesting to applicant’s fulfillment of all driver education requirements) must be 20 or older, held a driver license for at least 4 years with no suspensions during past 4 years and can include:
    • spouse of married minor (under 18) applicant, or
    • parent, grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian, or
    • if applicant has no spouse, parent, grandparent, foster parent or guardian who is qualified & available:  stepparent, brother, sister, uncle or aunt, by blood or marriage.

PARENTS:  Download training log for home training of your teen driver (word document). 

Parent/legal guardian must attend 2-hour parent training with 16-17 year old permit holder before the teen can be tested for a license.

Two-Hour Parent Training

Connecticut law requires that one parent or legal guardian be available and take a 2 hour parent training at a commercial driving school before a teen is eligible for a driver license.  If your parent or legal guardian is unable to attend the 2 hour parent training, you will not be eligible for a Connecticut driver license until you reach age 18.

Driver License Eligibility Date

If you attend a commercial or secondary school:

  • The entire 30 hours classroom portion of driver training including the 8-hour safe driving practices class (including the 2-hour parent training class) and
  • Receive a minimum of 8 hours practice driving (behind-the-wheel) from them
You must have a learner permit for at least 120 days before you are eligible to take the road test for your driver license.
If you are home trained:
  • Receive the equivalent of 22 hours of classroom training
  • Attend a commercial or secondary school for the 8 hour safe driving practices class (including the 2 hour parent training) and
  • Receive the 40 hours of practice driving (behind-the-wheel) from a qualified home trainer
You must have a learner permit for at least 180 days before you are eligible to take the test for your driver license.

Driver Education Certificate (form CS-1)

A driver education certificate (form CS-1) will be issued by a CT licensed driving school after completion of the training course. The certificate will certify the completion of 30 hours of classroom and 8 hours behind-the- wheel driving; or 8 hours only of Safe Driving Practices course. (2 hours of parent training is included in these courses for 16-and 17-year-old students.)   

All applicants must present the CS-1 certificate at the time of testing.