Parking Placards for Disabled Individuals
***EXTENSION OFFERED: DMV is offering extensions to Connecticut residents with expiring driver’s licenses, ID cards and learner’s permit’s. No late fees will be assessed for eligible credentials. Learn more.
Credentials that expire between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020 are automatically extended by 180-days.
Credentials that expire between July 1, 2020 and September 30, 2020 are automatically extended by 90-days.
Permits for a temporary disability have a $5 application fee and are valid for up to six months. A permit for a permanent disability has no application cost.
- Apply for a Permit
- Replace a Permit
- Qualifying Disabilities
- Motorcycle Riders
- Proper Use of Permit
- Physicians Information
Apply for a Permit
- Complete Part A of the application form - Permanent permit form | Temporary permit form. Forms can also be obtained at any DMV office or by contacting the DMV Contact Center.
- Temporary permits have a $5 application fee and the application cannot be faxed to DMV.
- Have Part B completed by a licensed physician, physician's assistant, psychiatrist (under contract or employed by the USVA), Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN), ophthalmologist, optometrist, or a member of the Connecticut Board of Services and Education for the Blind.
- NOTE: In lieu of certification, DMV will accept a VA disability certificate for blindness, amputation of legs or arms, or loss of use of legs or arms, traumatic brain injury, paraplegic and hemiplegic disabilities.
- Disabilities or blindness can be certified for minors, however, please bear in mind that the minor must meet the same criteria for disability or blindness.
Replace a Permit
What to do:
- Complete the form Permanent permit form. If your permit has an expiration date, you only need to complete Part A of the form. There is no fee to replace a permit for a permanent disability. Temporary permits have a $5 replacement fee.
- Submit application to DMV:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Customized Plates & Copy Records
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
Proper Use of Permit
Off-street parking spaces for people with disabilities are required by law at any private facility with 201 or more parking spaces. If you have a question about parking for people with disabilities on a particular street, contact the authorities responsible for maintaining that road.
Proper Use of License Plates or Valid Permits
Misuse of Parking Permits or Plates
Connecticut plates and permits for people with disabilities are available only to Connecticut residents. However, Connecticut honors out-of-state plates and permits for people with disabilities, and most other states also honor Connecticut permits and plates. If you are traveling to another state, check with the local law enforcement agency of the other state to be sure.