Motor Vehicle Dealerships
Dealer Online Processing
***Effective Friday March 20, 2020, dealerships will be able to drop off their manual dealer work at the local branch office(s) listed below. The work can be dropped off in the vestibule of each office from 7:45 AM to 4:00 PM Tuesday through Friday and Saturday 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM. Dealers must include an overnight pre-paid envelope (Fed Ex, UPS, etc.) if they want a quicker response, otherwise the mail will be sent standard US first class mail. Please be sure to include the name of the dealership, type of transaction (new or transfer), phone number, and a contact name. A DMV representative will call to process a credit card payment. At this point, we will NOT accept checks or cash. The location that will be accepting this work is:
For all paperwork that is dropped off or mailed to the Connecticut DMV, it will take additional time to process due to staff limitations. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and we are doing our best to complete the work that we are receiving.
SERVICE UPDATE: The wait time for DMV’s Online Dealers Unit to issue a title is approximately 21 days.
UPDATE: Section 14-180 of the Connecticut General Statutes has been updated. It clarifies that the title document (or subsequent ownership document) must indicate the dealer as owner of the vehicle.
This webpage is a resource for Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) licensed motor vehicle dealerships that register vehicles through an online system.
Manual for Dealer Online Procedures
Adding a Customer
Register a Vehicle
Compliance Issues (that stop a registration)
Corrections after Title Issuance
Online Registration Withdrawal Procedures (Vehicles that have not left the lot)
$100 Fee Information
After completing the renewal process, please print the beneficiary form
and attach to the registration certificate for the vehicle owner's records.
Phone number to Customer Contact Center: (860)-263-5708
Connecticut in 2018 began offering all residents with Connecticut license plates on their vehicles free parking at all state parks and beaches. Connecticut wants to make state parks, forests, trails, historic sites and beaches more available to our residents so they can enjoy the many attractions and beauty they offer. A $10 fee, which amounts to $5 per year, will be included in all two-year non-commercial vehicles with new registrations, renewals and plate transfers. These are passenger cars and vehicles with combination plates
as well as motorcycles, campers/motor homes and vehicles with antique car plates. In addition, seniors 65 years old and older with a one-year registration renewal will have only an additional $5 fee each year.
The new program allows the State of Connecticut to give more to the public that has now invested in our park system: Increased lifeguards, improved park maintenance, shoulder season camping for opening day of fishing and into the fall foliage, and longer hours at our museums and nature centers. When people visit our state parks and other sites they visit local restaurants, shops and local farms. This program brings many economic benefits for our state.