Connecticut State Building Code


Current State Building Code

The current state building code, effective October 1, 2016, is the 2016 State Building Code (SBC):

The State Building Code is based on the International Code Council’s widely-adopted 2012 International Codes and references the ICC A117.1-2009 standard for accessibility. The 2016 CSBC is effective for projects where permit applications are made on or after October 1, 2016.

The 2016 SBC adopts the following model codes:

  • 2012 International Building Code
  • 2012 International Existing Building Code
  • 2012 International Plumbing Code
  • 2012 International Mechanical Code
  • 2012 International Residential Code
  • 2012 International Energy Conservation Code
  • 2014 National Electrical Code (NFPA 70)

Obtaining Model Codes

The model codes are viewable on their publisher’s web sites and can also be purchased:

Prior State Building Codes

The State of Connecticut has had a State Building Code since 1971, which has been amended or superseded many times since: