CTDOT Press Releases

CTDOT Press Release Header graphic


Keep Your Eyes on the Road, Not Your Phone

Statewide Distracted Driving Enforcement Campaign to Run October 15 through October 31

Connecticut law enforcement has a message for drivers: Put down the cell phones and electronic devices while behind the wheel.

In partnership with state and local law enforcement, the Connecticut Department of Transportation (CTDOT) Highway Safety Office will step up efforts to enforce distracted driving laws from October 15 - October 31, 2022.

“A driver’s focus should be on the road, not their phone,” Connecticut Department of Transportation Commissioner Joseph Giulietti said. “Starting October 15, the community will see an increased and highly-visible law enforcement presence on our roadways with officers stopping and ticketing anyone driving distracted. If you have a phone in your hand, expect to be holding a ticket in the other.”

Over the past decade, distracted driving has become one of the nation’s leading causes of vehicle crashes. At any given moment across America, approximately 660,000 drivers are using or manipulating electronic devices while driving – a number that has held steady for over a decade. In Connecticut in 2021, there were over 5,400 crashes attributed to distracted driving. 

“There are far too many drivers engaged with cell phones and other electronic devices,” added Giulietti. “It’s wrong and unlawful. No text message is so critical that it’s worth risking lives.”

Connecticut law prohibits the use of any hand-held mobile electronic device while operating a motor vehicle. Drivers who are 16- or 17- years old are prohibited from using a cell phone or mobile device at any time, even with a hands-free accessory.

The Connecticut Department of Transportation urges everyone to put their phones down when they get behind the wheel. Pull over and park in a safe place if you need to send a text.

Violating Connecticut’s distracted-driving laws can be costly. Ticketed drivers are fined $200 for the first offense, $375 for the second offense, and $625 for the third and subsequent offenses.

For more information, visit nhtsa.gov.


Twitter: @CTDOTOfficial
Facebook: Connecticut Department of Transportation


Share this information on: