OEMS - EMS Licensure/Certification/Exams
The Department of Public Health is aware of “phishing” telephone calls and emails making their way through Connecticut, targeting license holders with the State of Connecticut. The phone calls and emails appear to be from the state (though they are not). The phone calls appear to be from (860) 509-7603 and indicate there is an issue with a license. The email asks credential holders to follow a link to a web page that looks like the state’s eLicense system. There they are asked to validate their license by entering personal information, such as name, address, social security number and date of birth.
To protect your personal information, please do not provide any information without ensuring that you are at the legitimate site, which is https://elicense.ct.gov/ and requires a login to update personal information.
The Commissioner has ordered the resumption of the renewal requirements effective May 10, 2022. A licensee who wishes to renew their license will have six months from that date, November 10, 2022, to renew the license/certification by completing the renewal requirements for their license and paying any past unpaid renewal fees. Please note that the payment of renewal fees that accrued during the period of suspension is required by the statute and the Department has no authority to waive or alter this obligation.
Answers to most licensing and examination questions can be found on this page. If you are unable to find an answer to your EMS licensing, certification or examination question, please email OEMS licensing or call our office staff at (860) 509-7975 for assistance.
Verification of CEU's Instruction Form (June 2021)
Certified EMS Providers - EMR, EMT, AEMT and EMSI
Please choose one of the links below for specific certification requirements:
- CT Certified Emergency Medical Responder (EMR)
EMR Initial Certification by Examination
EMR Endorsement of an Out-of-State Certification
- CT Certified Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)
EMT Initial Certification by Examination
EMT Endorsement of an Out-of-State Certification
EMT Temporary Permit for applicants that have held a Paramedic license only
- CT Certified Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT)
AEMT Initial Certification by Examination
AEMT Endorsement of an Out-of-State Certification
- CT Certified Emergency Medical Services Instructor (EMSI)
EMS Instructor Initial Certification
EMS Instructor Renewal of Certification
EMS Instructor Reinstatement of Lapsed Certification
|EMR, EMT, AEMT, EMSI CERT.||AMOUNT|
|Initial by examination||$00.00|
|Based on an out-of-state license||$00.00|
Licensed EMS Providers - Paramedics
Please choose one of the links below for specific licensing requirements:
Verification of Paramedic Training Program
FEES for Licensure:
|Initial by examination||$150.00|
|Based on an out-of-state license||$150.00|
An important note about application processing time:
Verification of a license, certification or temporary permit can be found on the State of Connecticut's e-License website. Various rosters of EMS providers and organizations can also be generated and downloaded.
Directions on how to generate a roster of currently Licensed or Certified EMS organizations or providers can be found here.
Please Note: Adobe Acrobat Reader is needed in order to view and print the Portable Document Format (pdf) files.