AEMT Certification Reinstatement

Before applying for certification, please familiarize yourself with the general certification/licensure policies.
Learn how to apply for an initial AEMT Certification on CT e-license by downloading the step-by-step instruction guide.

What to do after the expiration of your certification
If the certification is not renewed within 90 days after the expiration date, the certification will expire and as a result the applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider until the certification is reinstated.  Any person certified as an AEMT whose certification has expired may apply for reinstatement of such certification as follows:
  • Document completion 50 hours of continued education for an AEMT as required by NREMT; OR Be currently certified as an AEMT by the NREMT 

Documentation Requirements

A completed AEMT Reinstatement Application, and in addition applicants must complete the following requirements:

  • Verification of completion 50 hours of continued education for an AEMT as required by NREMT Use the Verification of Continuing Education Form, OR
  • Evidence of current NREMT certification at the AEMT level. (Copy of NREMT AEMT card or NREMT number.)
  • Official verification of current or expired EMT certification or licensure in another state(s) or territory.   The applicant must complete Section One of the form and forward to the state or territory where they are currently, or have been, certified/licensed in for official verification of licensure/certification.  Section Two is to be completed by the verifying agency.  The completed Verification Form is to be sent directly to the Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS) by the verifying agency.  The verifying state or territory must also provide their current license/certification requirements.  Please contact the jurisdiction for completion fee information.  Contact information for states and territories can be found on the NREMT website.
All supporting documentation (except for the online application) should be sent from the primary source (state, territory and/or instructor) via any of the following:
via email: (Preferred Method)
via fax: 860.920.3142
via mail: Connecticut Department of Public Health
EMS Certification
410 Capitol Ave., MS # 12 EMS
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308
Telephone: 860.509.7975
For a list of Connecticut approved initial and refresher courses, please visit the Licensing/Certification/Exams page of the OEMS website.