EMT Renewal/Recertification

Before applying for certification, please familiarize yourself with the general certification/licensure policies.
Learn how to apply for an initial EMT Certification on CT e-license by downloading the step-by-step instruction guide.

What to do before the expiration of your certification
To qualify for renewal/recertification an applicant must renew on or before the expiration date of the certification. To qualify for renewal/recertification an applicant must meet one of the following requirements:
  • Complete 40 hours of continued education for an EMT as required by NREMT; OR
  • Be currently certified by the NREMT as an EMT.

Provided OEMS has a current email address on file, a renewal notice will be sent six (6) months prior to the expiration of the certification and a final notice will be sent three (3) months prior to the expiration of the certification.  If the certification is not renewed within 90 days of the expiration date, the certification will expire and as a result the applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider.  Please see reinstatement requirements.

Documentation Requirements:

  • A completed renewal online application on the Connecticut eLicense website for EMT renewal.
  • Verification of completion, as instructed by the Department, of continued education for an EMT as required by NREMT; OR 
  • Current certification of NREMT certification.
All supporting documentation (except for the online application) should be sent from the primary source (state, territory and/or instructor) via any of the following:
via email: dph.emslicensing@ct.gov (Preferred Method)
via fax: 860.920.3142
via mail: Connecticut Department of Public Health
EMS Certification
410 Capitol Ave., MS # 12 EMS
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308
Telephone: 860.509.7975


For a list of Connecticut approved initial and refresher courses, please visit the Licensing/Certification/Exams page of the OEMS website.