CT Travel Smart Traffic Alerts:  Traffic Alert Banner

Oversize / Overweight Vehicle Permits

The Oversize / Overweight (OS/OW) Permit Office within the Bureau of Highway Operations ensures the safe and efficient movement of traffic over the State highway network, protects the motoring public and ensures safe preservation of the State's infrastructure.  The OS/OW Permit Office issues permits to owners or operators of non-conforming vehicles travelling on the state and local roadway networks.  These vehicular permits limit the routes, times of operations, maximum rate of speed and other conditions deemed necessary by the State.  This website provides general information and guidance pertaining to the issuance of OS/OW permits. 

For specific information or inquiries, please email the office at dot.osowpermits@ct.gov

 

Oversize Load          

 

APPLYING FOR A PERMIT

Oversize / Overweight permit applications are processed through the Connecticut Commercial Vehicle Operations (CVO) WebPortal.
  • Single Trip Permits:  Oversize/Overweight Permit, Radioactive Permit

  • Period Based Permits:  Radioactive Pharmaceutical, Industrial, Annual Divisible, Monthly Divisible, Annual Indivisible, Annual Milk

APPLY FOR A PERMIT

 

PERMIT HOLIDAY TRAVEL RESTRICTIONS

2020 Permit Holiday Travel Restrictions 

HOLIDAY DATE (2020) NO MOVES PERMITTED 

New Year’s Day Wed, Jan 1 Wed, Jan 1

Good Friday Fri, Apr 10 Fri, Apr 10

Memorial Day Mon, May 25 Begin Fri, May 22 at 12:00 NOON til daylight Tues, May 26

Independence Day Fri, Jul 3 Fri, Jul 3

Labor Day Mon, Sep 7 Begin Fri, Sep 4 at 12:00 NOON til daylight Tues, Sep 8

Thanksgiving Day Thur, Nov 26 Begin Wed, Nov 25 at 12:00 NOON til daylight, Mon, Nov 30

Christmas Day Fri, Dec 25 Begin Thur, Dec 24 at 12:00 NOON til daylight, Mon, Dec 28

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

FAQS

 

FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS

 
Mobile/Modular/Prefabricated Housing Guidelines