CT Travel Smart Traffic Alerts:  Traffic Alert Banner

Oversize / Overweight Vehicle Permits

The Oversize / Overweight (OS/OW) Permit Office within the Bureau of Highway Operations ensures the safe and efficient movement of traffic over the State highway network, protects the motoring public and ensures safe preservation of the State's infrastructure.  The OS/OW Permit Office issues permits to owners or operators of non-conforming vehicles travelling on the state and local roadway networks.  These vehicular permits limit the routes, times of operations, maximum rate of speed and other conditions deemed necessary by the State.  This website provides general information and guidance pertaining to the issuance of OS/OW permits. 

For specific information or inquiries, please email the office at dot.osowpermits@ct.gov

 

Oversize Load          

APPLYING FOR A PERMIT

Oversize / Overweight permit applications are processed through the Connecticut Commercial Vehicle Operations (CVO) WebPortal.

  • Single Trip Permits:  Oversize/Overweight Permit, Radioactive Permit
  • Period Based Permits:  Radioactive Pharmaceutical, Industrial, Annual Divisible, Monthly Divisible, Annual Indivisible, Annual Milk

**CT CONNECT Pending 2021 Updates**

    APPLY FOR A PERMIT

PERMIT HOLIDAY TRAVEL RESTRICTIONS

2021 Permit Holiday Travel Restrictions

HOLIDAY DATE (2021) NO MOVES PERMITTED 

New Year’s Day Fri, Jan 1 Fri, Jan 1

Good Friday Fri, Apr 2 Fri, Apr 2

Memorial Day Mon, May 31 Begin Fri, May 28 at 12:00 NOON

until daylight Tue, Jun 1

Independence Day Sun, Jul 4 Sun, Jul 4

Labor Day Mon, Sep 6 Begin Fri, Sep 3 at 12:00 NOON

until daylight Tue, Sep 7

Thanksgiving Day Thur, Nov 25 Begin Wed, Nov 24 at 12:00 NOON

until daylight, Mon, Nov 29

Christmas Day Sat, Dec 25 Begin Fri, Dec 24 at 12:00 NOON

until daylight, Mon, Dec 27

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

FAQS

 

FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS

Divisible Load Permit Bridge Restrictions

Allowable Materials for Divisible Load Permits

Divisible Load Permit Guidelines

Indivisible Load Permit Bridge Restrictions

New Annual Indivisible Load Permit Instructions

Updated Divisible Load Permit Instructions

Renewal Annual Indivisible Load Permit Instructions

Updated Annual Renewal Divisible Load Permit Instructions

Self Propelled Construction Vehicle Guidelines

 
Mobile/Modular/Prefabricated Housing Guidelines