Reproduction and Publication of Connecticut State Library Collections

You can order copies or digital images of library material, including legislative histories, photographs, and other archival and special collection material.*  Paper copies can be mailed, faxed, fedexed, or picked up in the Library. Digital files can be emailed, sent to a dropbox, or sent on a CD.  Unless your order is more than $100, prepayment is not necessary and an invoice will be included with your order.  CT state agencies will be charge via transfer invoice. 

Reproduction Fees for paper copies

Page Size/Type General Inmates of
Federal, state and local agencies, and public institutions
0-10 pages no charge no charge no charge

Additional pages
per 8 1/2″ x 11″ sheet (each)


25 cents 15 cents 15 cents
per 11″ x 17″ sheet 50 cents 25 cents 25 cents
per 8 1/2″x 11″ sheet, color $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
per 11″x 17″ sheet color $1.25 $1.25 $1.25
Copies from Microfilm/
(limited to federal or state
documents & legal materials
25 cents 25 cents 25 cents
Handling Charge per order $3.00 $3.00 $3.00
Mailing to be determined
when applicable

 Reproduction fees for Digital products

Digital product General Public Inmates of correctional institutions, Federal, state and local agencies, and public & cultural institutions
Copies of pre-
existing digital files
Free of charge if delivered electronically Free of charge if delivered electronically Free of charge if delivered electronically

Digital reproductions not already available in one of our digital collections; or not available in the patron requested digital file format.
File options: PDF,JPEG, TIFF or DNG


25 cents per scanned page or image 15 cents per scanned page or image 15 cents per scanned page or image

Additional fees:
Handling fee $3.00
CD if requested $1.00
Postal Rate for CD
delivery $2.00



Fees charged by CSL for copies are established by the State Library Board in accordance with Section 1-212 and other pertinent Sections of the General Statutes of Connecticut and are set to recover reproduction costs.


CSL reserves the right to restrict the use or reproduction of rare, fragile, or intrinsically valuable materials, to limit the number of photographic prints/captures, and to limit the type of reproduction options available. For example, some items are limited to face-up copying only, and encapsulated items are not removed from their protective enclosures. Where an individual has donated papers, manuscripts, etc. with the understanding that they will not be reproduced, then the reproduction rights of the library or archives shall not be construed as justifying a violation of such an agreement.


All copying, regardless of means, is subject to copyright law. The responsibility for ascertaining whether any copyright or other restrictions exist and for obtaining all necessary permissions remains at all times with the person making or requesting the copy(ies).

Permission to Publish

Possession of a reproduction, paper or digital  of any material from the Connecticut State Library or the Museum of Connecticut History does not constitute permission to publish, exhibit, or broadcast it. You many reproduce (print or download) CSL materials from our Website for personal use or non-profit educational use, but not for publication without prior permission.  To publish, exhibit, or broadcast reproduced items, a Permission to Publish must be authorized. See link below.