Borrowing Materials from the Connecticut State Library


How to get a Connecticut State Library Card

At the Library:

  • You need to be a Connecticut resident
  • Ask a librarian for a library card application
  • Supply a photo id which proves residency, such as:
    • CT Driver’s License
    • State Employee ID
    • Student ID
    • Passport

From home:

Collection Services Connecticut State Library 231 Capitol Ave. Hartford, CT  06106

A library card will be mailed to you.

Considerations for minors (under 18)

Application forms for minors must have parent or guardian approval.  If the parent/guardian is not with the minor, an application form will be mailed to the home to be signed, and mailed back to the Library.  After receipt of the completed application, we will issue a library card to the minor.

Your library Card will allow you to:

  • Borrow material
  • Use our public computers
  • Use some of our databases from home

How to renew your library card:

Library cards expire one year from registration or renewal date.  Recently expired library cards may be renewed by phone:  860 757-6500. If your library card information is no longer available in our system, you may obtain a new card.

Use of Secured Collections/Archives will require a separate card (see below).

Borrowing Materials from the Connecticut State Library

Who may borrow? Connecticut State employees, Connecticut residents, and students at colleges and universities in Connecticut may borrow items directly from the Library.

Your own library may borrow items for your use using our Interlibrary Loan procedures.

What may be borrowed? Generally, all materials published since 1956 listed as “Available” may be borrowed. Exceptions may be made due to condition or other circumstances. Please contact us with any questions.

How many items may be borrowed? A maximum of ten items may be borrowed at one time.

How to renew borrowed items. Call 860 757-6500 to request a renewal by phone, or Login to your library record to renew online through Primo, our catalog and discovery tool.

How to return borrowed items. Return items by the due date inside the front cover of the book to any Reference desk at the Library. You may also return books via U.S. mail (Media Mail class is least expensive). The borrower is responsible for items until they are checked back in at the Library.

Overdues/Charges. We do not charge overdue fines. However, if an item is not returned within four weeks after coming due, a minimum of $25 or the actual replacement cost is charged.

If a borrower has accrued $100 in charged replacement costs, OR, has received two or more overdue notices, borrowing privileges are suspended until the items are returned or the replacement charge(s) are paid.

 Get a Secured Collections/Archives Card

Apply in person at the State Library

A Secured Collections/Archives Card will allow CT residents to:

  • Use secured and archival collections
  • Borrow library material
  • Use public computers
  • Use some of our databases from home

Out-of State cardholders may:

  • Use secured and archival collections
  • Use public computers
  • Cards are valid for one year; if you renew within six weeks before or after the original expiration date, you may receive a three year card.

Connecticut State Library Card for CT State Employees

Visit the Library to get a Library Card, or apply directly online, or complete and sign the a Library Card Application and mail it with a photocopy of your State Employee ID to:

Collection Services Connecticut State Library 231 Capitol Ave. Hartford, CT 06106 A Library Card will be issued and sent to your office by return mail.

Borrowing Privileges for CT State Employees
Direct Borrowing

Connecticut State employees have borrowing privileges at the Library. Just get a library card, then visit, or contact us to borrow material, and it’ll be arranged.

You may return books via U.S. mail (Media Mail class is least expensive), interdepartmental mail or return them in person to any Reference desk at the State Library. You are responsible for items until they are checked back in at the Library.

Interlibrary Loan

If you are a Connecticut State employee and need work-related material that’s not available at our Library, we can try to borrow material or request copies from another library on Interlibrary Loan.

To request an Item or copy

Contact us so we can initiate a request for you. If libraries are unable to let us borrow the material, often they are willing to make copies, which will be subject to provisions of the copyright law including:

“Copyright Notice: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If the user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.”

How long does it take?

In most cases, material is available within 2 weeks

How will you get the material?

We will phone or email you when the item has arrived. It’ll be waiting for you at the Reference desk at 231 Capitol Ave., Hartford. We will hold borrowed items for 5 days. If not picked up, they will be returned to the supplying library. Copies will also be held for 5 days. If the supplying library sends the copy to us via email, we will attempt to send it to you via email.

How long can you borrow the material?

Copies are yours to keep, unless otherwise indicated. Other library materials depend on the supplying library’s policy, but it’s usually 2-3 weeks. Return the material to the Reference desk at 231 Capitol Ave.

If you need more time, phone 860 757-6556 or email the Interlibrary Loan Office, maybe we can arrange an extension.

Are there any fees?

We will always try to provide your material without a fee but the supplying library may charge us. Libraries may have different charges for loans and copies. The State Library does not charge a fee for trying to borrow or get copies for state employees. When you ask for the item, the reference librarian will ask if your agency will pay any fees. If so, the charges will be passed on to your agency.

Overdue, damaged or lost items

If the item is returned late and there are overdue fines, or if the item is lost or damaged the charges will be passed to your agency.