Please see the new Sitecore Changes and Sitecore Login Process as of Saturday, June 6, 2020. Sitecore 9.3 Changes, Login Process, and FAQs

Relinking Deleted Pages or Folders

When a page, folder, image, or document file is deleted, any hyperlinks on your website that are linked to that deleted item needs to be relinked.

With each item you delete, you are prompted with the Broken Link dialogue box where you can:

Breaking Links Dialogue Box

 

Remove Links

Removes all hyperlinked tags that was linked to the deleted item.

  1. Select the Remove links option, then the Continue button to permanently remove every link to the item.
    • The message will display the number of links to the item you're deleting.
    • The words the item was linked to will still remain on the page.

      Broken Links - Removing Links Dialogue Box

  2. Select Continue.
  3. Save Save icon your changes.
  4. Publish Publish icon the parent folder that contained the deleted item(s).

NOTICE: When the Remove links option is chosen, all pages that contained or linked to the deleted item must be republished as well for the changes to take effect.

 

Link to Another Item

Prompts you to change all links pointed to the deleted item to another item.

  1. Select the Link to another item option, then the Continue button to permanently change every link to the item.
  2. Navigate and select the item that will replace the deleted item.
    Relinks Dialogue Box
  3. Select Relink to replace the item.
  4. Save Save icon your changes.
  5. Publish Publish icon the parent folder that contained the deleted item(s).

NOTE: If you are replacing the deleted item with a new item, first add the new item into Sitecore.

 

Leave Links

Leaves all hyperlinks or image references on the page where the item was deleted.

  1. Select the Leave links option, then the Continue button to leave every link to the item.
    • A message will display with the number of links that will be broken.
    • The words and links will still remain on the page.

    Broken Links - Leaving Links Dialogue Box
  2. Save Save icon your changes.
  3. Publish Publish icon the parent folder that contained the deleted item(s).

 

 

Edit Links Individually
  1. To view a list of pages that links to the item you have deleted, select the Edit Links button. The Edit Links dialog box appears.

    Broken Links Editing Dialogue Box

    Each page listed gives you options to do something with the link.

    • Edit - Opens the page in the Content Editor for you to edit.
      Broken Links - Edit the Page

    • Remove Link - Removes the hyperlink tag or image from the page.
      • The words the item was linked to still remain on the page.
      • Once clicked, the removed link message appears.
      • WARNING: Doing this action CANNOT be undone and you do not receive a warning message once clicked.
        Removed Link Message

    • Link to Other Item - Opens the Relink box where you can browse and select a different page, image, or document file.
      • Select the item that will replace the deleted item.
      • Select Relink.
        Relinks Dialogue Box
  2. Save Save icon your changes.
  3. Publish Publish icon the parent folder that contained the deleted item(s).