Please see the new Sitecore Changes and Sitecore Login Process as of Saturday, June 6, 2020. Sitecore 9.3 Changes, Login Process, and FAQs

Deleting a Page or Content Folder

Only System Administrators can delete pages and folders. However, deleting a page or folder can have consequences if that item has been attached (inserted or hyperlinked) to a published page or navigation link.

The steps below demonstrate how to delete a page or folder in two ways through the Content Editor.

TIP: To see if a page has been attached to any other items, visit the View Linked Items page.

From the Content Tree
  1. Navigate to the page or content folder you wish to delete.
  2. Right-click on the item and a menu will appear.
    Content Editor - Content Tree Delete
  3. Select the Delete icon Delete option.
  4. A dialog box will appear asking if you're sure you want to delete the file.
  5. If okay to delete, select OK.
  6. Relink items to prevent broken links, if the Broken Links dialog box appears.
  7. Publish the content folder that contained the deleted item.

NOTE: The page or content folder is deleted from the content tree, but the deletion action still needs to be published. This is done by publishing the folder that contained the deleted file.

 

From the Ribbon
  1. Navigate to the page or folder you wish to delete.
  2. Select the Delete Delete icon icon on the HOME tab.
    Content Editor Ribbon - Home tab
  3. A dialog box will appear asking if you're sure you want to delete the file.
    • If you're deleting a folder with pages contained in it, the message will warn you that all sub-items will be deleted as well.
      Delete Sub Items
  4. If okay to delete, select OK.
  5. Relink items to prevent broken links, if the Broken Links dialog box appears.
  6. Publish the content folder that contained the deleted item.

NOTE: The page or content folder is deleted from the content tree, but the deletion action still needs to be published. This is done by publishing the folder that contained the deleted file.