Please see the new Sitecore Changes and Sitecore Login Process as of Saturday, June 6, 2020. Sitecore 9.3 Changes, Login Process, and FAQs

Unpublishing a Page, Folder, Image or Document File

If you need to remove an item, like a page, folder, image, or document file from being viewed on your website, but do not want it deleted from Sitecore, you can Unpublish the item through the Content Editor or Media Library. The item will still exist in Sitecore and can be edited or published in the future.

To successfully unpublish an item that’s viewable on your website now, follow these steps:

 

Unpublish a Page or Folder
  1. Navigate to the page or folder you wish to unpublish from the content tree.
  2. If unlocked, select the Lock and Edit link from yellow message bar to edit.
    Yellow Message Bar - Lock and Edit
  3. Navigate to the Publishing Section in the Content Area.
    • You can use the Table of Contents icon at the top right of the Content Area to jump to the section.
      Table of Contents icon
  4. Select the Now link under 'Unpublish'. Once selected, the date and time fields will populate below.
  5. Select the Internet checkbox under ‘Publishing Targets’ if not already selected.
    Unpublish Area
  6. Save Save icon your changes.
  7. Publish the action to ‘Unpublish’ the item.
    • If your page is assigned a workflow, select the By-Pass Approval option to publish your action.
      By-Pass Approval
    • If your page is not assigned a workflow, then select the Publish Content icon from the Publish tab in the Content Editor ribbon.
      Publish Content icon

The page or folder will now be Unpublished from your website. If you were to go to the URL of the items you unpublished, you would receive a 404 error message.  

 

Unpublish an Image or Document File
  1. Navigate to the page or folder you wish to unpublish from the content tree.
  2. If unlocked, select the Lock and Edit link from yellow message bar to edit.
    Yellow Message Bar - Lock and Edit
  3. Navigate to the Publishing Section in the Content Area.
    • You can use the Table of Contents icon at the top right of the Content Area to jump to the section.
      Table of Contents icon
  4. Select the Now link under 'Unpublish'. Once selected, the date and time fields will populate below.
  5. Select the Internet checkbox under ‘Publishing Targets’ if not already selected.
    Unpublish Area
  6. Save Save icon your changes.
  7. Publish the action to ‘Unpublish’ the item.
    • Select the Publish Content icon from the Publish tab in the Media Library ribbon.
      Publish Content icon

The image or document file will now be Unpublished from your website. If you were to go to the URL of the item you unpublished, you would receive a 404 error message.