DAS Collection Services
I paid my child support order already, why am I getting a lien on my lawsuit or inheritance to pay back the public assistance again?
Answer: State law holds both parents equally and separately liable for the full amount of assistance paid for the benefit of their legally liable children. Child support orders are determined by income and payments often are far less than the amount of assistance that was received by the children and their caretaker. Example: A parent is ordered to pay $200 per month in child support, but the state pays out $500 per month for the children and caretaker, this leaves $300 per month in unreimbursed assistance that is owed the State of Connecticut.
I received cash assistance back in 1981, why are you trying to collect the money now? Is there a statute of limitation to collect the money?
Answer: By state law, there is no statute of limitation to collect public assistance benefits. The Department of Administrative Services routinely places liens on lawsuits or inheritances for assistance received as far back as 1968.
My lawsuit settled for $2,500.00, how am I going to pay back the $10,000.00 on the lien?
Answer: Generally after your attorney gets paid, plus any medical expenses related to your lawsuit, the State would take up to half of the money left for you or the amount of the lien, whichever is less. You are still liable for the remainder of the assistance.
What is the address for payment or correspondence and to whom do I make checks payable?
Make checks payable to State of Connecticut and mail all correspondence to:
Department of Administrative Services
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 1001
Hartford, CT 06103
Please place the account number/reference number on all checks and correspondence.
I filed a claim against an insurance company because of an injury, why is the State placing a lien on the claim?
Answer: Under a law that took effect in 2005, insurance claims are matched up against records for public assistance, incarceration and care or support with either the Departments of Social Services, Corrections, Mental Health and Addiction Services, Developmental Services or Children and Families and a lien is placed to recover money that you owe the state from the money you may receive from that insurance company.
If I lose my case or don’t get an inheritance, does the State bill me for the amount of the lien?
Your past or current liability is not pursued as an active bill. The State does not send you a monthly bill, send your account to private bill collectors or put any information on your credit report.
Disclosure: The preceding frequently asked question section does not constitute legal advice and may not apply to your specific case. Please contact the Reimbursement Analyst assigned your case or call the unit number below for further assistance.