Laws and regulations for CT teachers and educators


The rules for educator certificates, permits, and authorizations are part of the Regulations of the Connecticut State Board of Education.

Processing Applications

If you submit an application before the expiration of your certificate, the certification is considered in process, pending materials and final evaluation. As long as the application includes the original signature of the applicant and any appropriate fees, the application is considered timely and additional signatures or application forms, supporting documents, and the final fee may be submitted later by US mail. Please allow 10-12 business days for mail to reach our office.

Maintaining and Renewing an Initial Educator Certificate

For most teaching endorsements, you must successfully complete the Teacher Education and Mentoring (TEAM) program to advance from an initial to a provisional level educator certificate. TEAM is the state’s current teacher induction program. Advancement also requires at least 10 school months of appropriate experience under your initial educator certificate.

You may also qualify by serving for at least 30 school months within the last 10 years in an approved nonpublic school in Connecticut or 20 school months within the last 10 years in a public school in another state under valid authorization from that state.  

For administrative, special services, and other endorsements for which TEAM is not required, you must document at least 10 school months of successful appropriate service in a Connecticut public school or 30 school months in an approved nonpublic school or 20 school months within the last 10 years in a public school in another state under valid authorization from that state.

Maintaining, Renewing & Advancing a Provisional Certificate

Provisional certificates are generally effective for eight years to allow educators time to meet additional course work requirements. If an educator does not meet the requirements to advance their provisional certificate to the professional level, the applicant may renew their certificate at the provisional level.  

For most teaching endorsements, to advance from a provisional to a professional level educator certificate you must complete at least 30 semester hours of credit beyond your bachelor’s degree at an accredited college or university. You must also complete 30 school months of successful teaching experience under your provisional certificate.

Educators issued a certificate for the first time on or after July 1, 2018, will be required to obtain a master's degree in their teaching content, or a closely related subject major, as part of the eligibility requirements for obtaining a professional educator certificate.

Advanced course work is required to maintain most administrative and special services certificates. For example, for intermediate administration or supervision (#092) at least 18 semester hours of credit beyond the master’s degree is required to obtain the initial endorsement. In order to advance the provisional certificate to the professional level, you must complete at least 30 semester hours of credit beyond your master’s degree, as well as serve for at least 30 months under the provisional level certificate.

Continuation of a Professional Education Certificate

The Connecticut General Assembly passed legislation, PA 12-116, Sec. 36(i), which repeals all language regarding continuing education units (CEUs).

As of July 1, 2012, CEUs are no longer required to maintain professional educator certificates in Connecticut. However, as of July 1, 2013, Connecticut school districts will be responsible for offering at least 18 hours of professional development per year to the educators they employ.

This professional development will be tailored to the needs of individual educators. It is the responsibility of school districts to offer and track this professional development. Educators must be sure they receive appropriate professional development and keep careful records of completed activities.