Before applying for certification, please familiarize yourself with the general certification/licensure policies.
Learn how to apply for an initial EMT Certification on CT e-license by downloading the step-by-step instruction guide.
What to do after the expiration of your certification
If the certification is not renewed within 90 days after the expiration date, the certification will expire and as a result the applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider unless the certification is reinstated. Any person certified as an EMT whose certification has expired may apply for reinstatement of such certification as follows:
- If such certification expired for less than two years from the expiration date, such person shall complete continued education for an EMT as required by NREMT; OR Be currently certified by the NREMT.
- Successful completion of a Mental Health First Aid training program by a National Council for Behavioral Health (NCBH) certified instructor.
- If such certification expired two or more years from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall complete a full initial course with a minimum of 150 hours and the NREMT cognitive (written) and psychomotor (practical) examinations required for initial certification, OR
- Holders of temporary EMT permits (see requirements for EMT Temporary Permit) may qualify for reinstatement as an EMT provided the applicant has completed an approved EMT refresher-training program with a minimum of 40 hours prior to the expiration date of the temporary permit.
A completed EMT reinstatement Application, and in addition applicants must complete the following requirements:
- Verification of completion of 40 hours of continued education for an EMT as required by NREMT if such certifIcation expired less than two years from the date of expiration of the certification.
- Verification of completion of a Mental Health First Aid training program by a National Council for Behavioral Health (NCBH) certified instructor.
- If applicable, copies of discharged papers (DD214) must accompany the application for reinstatement of the EMS certification.
All supporting documentation (except for the online application) should be sent from the primary source (state, territory and/or instructor) via any of the following:
via email: firstname.lastname@example.org (Preferred Method)
via fax: 860.920.3142
via mail: Connecticut Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Ave., MS # 12 EMS
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308
For a list of Connecticut approved initial and refresher courses, visit the Licensing/Certification/Exams page of the OEMS website.