AEMT Certification Reinstatement
Before applying for certification, please familiarize yourself with the general certification/licensure policies.
Learn how to apply for an initial AEMT Certification on CT e-license by downloading the step-by-step instruction guide.
What to do after the expiration of your certification
If the certification is not renewed within 90 days after the expiration date, the certification will expire and as a result the applicant can no longer practice as an EMS provider until the certification is reinstated. Any person certified as an AEMT whose certification has expired may apply for reinstatement of such certification as follows:
- If such certification expired less than two years from the expiration, such person shall complete 50 hours of continued education for an AEMT as required by NREMT; OR Be currently certified by the NREMT as an AEMT.
- Successful completion of a Mental Health First Aid training program by a National Council for Behavioral Health (NCBH) certified instructor.
- If such certification expired two or more years from the date of application for reinstatement, such person shall complete a full initial course with a minimum of 150 hours and the written and practical examinations required for initial certification.
A completed AEMT reinstatement application, and in addition applicants must complete the following requirements:
- Verification of completion 50 hours of continued education for an AEMT as required by NREMT if such certification expired less than two years from the date of expiration of the certification.
- Verification of completion of a Mental Health First Aid training program by a National Council for Behavioral Health (NCBH) certified instructor.
- If applicable, a completed Verification of EMS License/Certification Form from all states in which the applicant is, or has ever been certified, current or expired, forwarded directly to OEMS from the appropriate authority in any U.S. State or territory in which the applicant is or has ever been certified as an EMT. Please contact the jurisdiction for completion fee information.
- If applicable, copies of discharged papers (DD214) must accompany the application for reinstatement of the AEMT certification.
All supporting documentation (except for the online application) should be sent from the primary source (state, territory and/or instructor) via any of the following:
via email: email@example.com (Preferred Method)
via fax: 860.920.3142
via mail: Connecticut Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Ave., MS # 12 EMS
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308
For a list of Connecticut approved initial and refresher courses, please visit the Licensing/Certification/Exams page of the OEMS website.