Connecticut Certified Stroke Centers

Passed during the 2017 Legislative Session, Public Act 17-146 (Sec. 40) requires any hospital certified as a comprehensive stroke center, primary stroke center or acute stroke-ready hospital to submit attestation from the nationally recognized certifying organization to the Commissioner of Public Health.  Please see below to submit hospital attestation to the CT Department of Public Health.

The hospitals that have provided attestation to the CT Department of Public Health are listed on this page.

 HOSPITAL

CERTIFICATION
CATEGORY
 

DATE OF CERTIFICATION

CERTIFYING
ORGANIZATION 

Bridgeport Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Michele Dilella
6/6/2017 - 6/06/2019 
203.384.3738
 The Joint Commission
qmdile@bpthosp.org
Danbury Hospital Primary Stroke Center
 CONTACT:  Lauren Hanulik
3/08/2017 - 3/08/2019
203.739.6973
The Joint Commission
lauren.hanulik@wchn.org
Day Kimball Healthcare
Primary Stroke Center
  CONTACT:  Sharon A. Sawyer
4/10/2018 - 4/10/2020
860.928.6451
The Joint Commission
ssawyer@daykimball.org
 Greenwich Hospital 
Primary Stroke Center
 CONTACT:  Sheryl Feldheim
11/17/2018 - 11/17/2020
203.863.3295
The Joint Commission
sheryl.feldheim@greenwichhospital.org
 Hartford Hospital
Comprehensive Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Dawn Beland 
10/19/2016 - 6/08/2019 
860.972.2183
The Joint Commission
dawn.beland@hhchealth.org
THOCC -
New Britain General

Primary Stroke Center
 CONTACT:  Kristen Hickey
4/29/2017 - 4/29/2019
203.910.6455
The Joint Commission
kristen.hickey@hhchealth.org

THOCC -
Bradley General

Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Kristen Hickey
4/29/2017 - 4/29/2019
203.910.6455
The Joint Commission
kristen.hickey@hhchealth.org
 Johnson Memorial Hospital
Acute Stroke Center
 CONTACT:  Cheryl Hansen
11/17/2018 - 11/17/2020
860.684.8478
The Joint Commission
cheryl.hansen@jmmc.com
 Lawrence Memorial Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
 CONTACT:  Lisa Bedard
7/15/2017 - 7/15/2019
401.339.1531
The Joint Commission
lisa.bedard@lmhosp.org
 Manchester Memorial Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Kathleen Davis
6/14/2018 - 6/14/2020
860.533.3432
The Joint Commission
kdavis@echn.org
Middlesex Hospital  Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT  Claire Davis 
6/16/2018 - 6/16/2020
860.358.6367
The Joint Commission 
claire.davis@midhosp.org
Midstate Medical Center
 Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Kristen Hickey
 6/9/2017 - 6/09/2019
203.910.6455
 The Joint Commission 
kristen.hickey@hhchealth.org
 Norwalk Hospital
 Primary Stroke Center
   CONTACT:  Michele Lecardo
12/22/2016 - 3/07/2019 
203.982.9767
 The Joint Commission 
michele.lecardo@wchn.org
Rockville General Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
   CONTACT:  Kathleen Davis
6/13/2018 - 6/13/2020 
860.533.3432 
 The Joint Commission 
kdavis@echn.org
 Sharon Hospital

Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT: Melissa Braislin

6/06/2017 - 6/06/2020
860.364.4446
Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP)
mbraisli@health-quest.org
St. Francis Hospital & Medical Center
Primary Stroke Center
  CONTACT  Monica Peyman
6/15/2018 - 6/15/2020
860.714.1572
The Joint Commission
mpeyman@stfranciscare.org
St. Mary's Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Deborah Cram
3/21/2018 - 3/21/2020
203.709.6754
The Joint Commission
deborah.cram@stmh.org
St. Vincent's Medical Center
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Jennifer Nascimento
5/06/2017 - 5/06/2019
475.210.5257
The Joint Commission
jenascimento@stvincents.org
Stamford Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Kathleen Silard
3/03/2011 - 7/25/2019
 203.276.7593
The Joint Commission
kkilard@stamhealth.org
UCONN John Dempsey Hospital 
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Ann Marie Capo
11/16/2018 - 11/16/2020
860.679.4144
The Joint Commission
capo@uchc.edu
 Waterbury Hospital Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT: Dayna Failla
2/28/2019 - 2/28/2021
203.573.6264
The Joint Commission
dfailla@wtbyhosp.org
Yale New Haven Hospital
(St. Rafael Campus) 

Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT: Karin Nystrom
3/22/2018 - 3/22/2020
203.737.1057
The Joint Commission
karin.nystrom@ynhh.org
Yale New Haven Hospital
(York St. Campus)
Comprehensive Stroke Center 
CONTACT:  Karin Nystrom
3/24/2018 - 3/24/2020
203.737.1057
The Joint Commission
karin.nystrom@ynhh.org

 


To Submit Hospital Attestation to CT Department of Public Health:

Pursuant to Public Act 17-146 (Sec. 40)  ".....any hospital that has been certified as a comprehensive stroke center, a primary stroke center or an acute stroke-ready hospital by the American Heart Association, the Joint Commission or any other nationally recognized certifying organization shall submit an attestation of such certification to the Commissioner of Public Health..."   

To submit initial Hospital Stroke Center Attestation of Certification or Hospital Renewal information to the Department of Public Health, please complete the Hospital Stroke Center Attestation form and follow directions to submit.

For questions, please contact Angela Pugliese, Health Program Assistant at angela.pugliese@ct.gov.

back to top