Connecticut Certified Stroke Centers

Passed during the 2017 Legislative Session, Public Act 17-146 (Sec. 40) requires any hospital certified as a comprehensive stroke center, primary stroke center or acute stroke-ready hospital to submit attestation from the nationally recognized certifying organization to the Commissioner of Public Health.  Please see below to submit hospital attestation to the CT Department of Public Health.

The hospitals that have provided attestation to the CT Department of Public Health are listed on this page.

 HOSPITAL

CERTIFICATION
CATEGORY
 

DATE OF CERTIFICATION

CERTIFYING
ORGANIZATION 

Bridgeport Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Michele Dilella
6/15/2019 - 6/15/2021 
203.384.3738
 The Joint Commission
michele.dilella@bpthosp.org
Danbury Hospital Primary Stroke Center
 CONTACT:  Lauren Henriques
5/25/2019 - 5/25/2021
203.739.6973
The Joint Commission
lauren.henriques@wchn.org
Day Kimball Healthcare
Primary Stroke Center
  CONTACT:  Sharon A. Sawyer
2/02/2021 - 2/02/2023
860.928.6451
The Joint Commission
ssawyer@daykimball.org
Greenwich Hospital 
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Sheryl Feldheim
11/04/2020 - 11/04/2022
203.863.3295
The Joint Commission
sheryl.feldheim@greenwichhospital.org
Griffin Hospital Primary Stroke Center
;CONTACT: Melissa Scott
12/14/2020 - 12/14/2022
203.732.7587
The Joint Commission
mscott@griffinhealth.org
Hartford Hospital
Comprehensive Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Dawn Beland
5/08/2019 - 5/08/2021
860.972.2183
The Joint Commission
dawn.beland@hhchealth.org
THOCC -
New Britain General

Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Kristen Hickey
6/5/2021 - 6/5/2023
203.910.6455
The Joint Commission
kristen.hickey@hhchealth.org
THOCC -
Bradley General
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Kristen Hickey
6/5/2021 - 6/5/2023
203.910.6455
The Joint Commission
kristen.hickey@hhchealth.org
Johnson Memorial Hospital
Acute Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Cheryl Hansen
11/17/2018 - 11/17/2020
860.684.8478
The Joint Commission
cheryl.hansen@jmmc.com
Lawrence Memorial Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Lisa Bedard
8/22/2019 - 8/22/2021
401.339.1531
The Joint Commission
lisa.bedard@lmhosp.org
Manchester Memorial Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Brian Wilson
10/16/2020 - 10/16/2022
860.646.1222
The Joint Commission
bwilson@echn.org
Middlesex Hospital Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT  Annie Gowac
10/27/2020 - 10/27/2022
860.358.6612
The Joint Commission
annie.gowac@midhosp.org
MidState Medical Center
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Christina Collin
6/29/2019 - 6/29/2021
203.228.0927
The Joint Commission
christina.collin@hhchealth.org
Norwalk Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Michele Lecardo
9/27/2021 - 9/27/2023
203.982.9767
<strong;the style="text-align: center;">
michele.lecardo@nuvancehealth.org
</strong;the>
Rockville General Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Brian Wilson
6/13/2018 - 6/13/2020
860.646-1222
The Joint Commission
bwilson@echn.org
Sharon Hospital Primary Stroke Center
  CONTACT  Melissa Braislin
1/30/2021 - 1/31/2023
860.364.4446
The Joint Commission
melissa.braislin@nuvancehealth.org
St. Francis Hospital & Medical Center
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT  Monica Peyman
6/15/2018 - 6/15/2020
860.714.1572
The Joint Commission
mpeyman@stfranciscare.org
St. Mary's Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Deborah Cram
2/6/2021 - 2/6/2023
203.709.6754
The Joint Commission
deborah.cram@trinityhealthofne.org
St. Vincent's Medical Center
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Jennifer Nascimento
5/10/2019 - 5/10/2021
475.210.5257
The Joint Commission
jennifer.nascimento@hhchealth.org
Stamford Hospital
Thrombectomy-Capable
CONTACT:  Grace Capone
5/05/2020 - 5/05/2022
203.276.2212
The Joint Commission
gcapone@stamhealth.org
UCONN John Dempsey Hospital
Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Ann Marie Capo
11/16/2018 - 11/16/2020
860.679.4144
The Joint Commission
capo@uchc.edu
Waterbury Hospital

Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT: Kathryn
Myers

2/28/2019 - 2/28/2021
203.573.6264
The Joint Commission
kathryn.myers@wtbyhosp.org
Yale New Haven Hospital
(St. Rafael Campus) 

Primary Stroke Center
CONTACT: Karin Nystrom
7/24/2021 - 7/24/2023
203.737.1057
The Joint Commission
karin.nystrom@yale.edu
Yale New Haven Hospital
(York St. Campus)
Comprehensive Stroke Center
CONTACT:  Karin Nystrom
8/18/2021 - 8/18/2023
203.737.1057
The Joint Commission
karin.nystrom@yale.edu

 


To Submit Hospital Attestation to CT Department of Public Health:

Pursuant to Public Act 17-146 (Sec. 40)  ".....any hospital that has been certified as a comprehensive stroke center, a primary stroke center or an acute stroke-ready hospital by the American Heart Association, the Joint Commission or any other nationally recognized certifying organization shall submit an attestation of such certification to the Commissioner of Public Health..."   

To submit initial Hospital Stroke Center Attestation of Certification or Hospital Renewal information to the Department of Public Health, please complete the Hospital Stroke Center Attestation form and follow directions to submit.

For questions, please contact Angela Pugliese, Health Program Assistant at angela.pugliese@ct.gov.

back to top