Pursuant to Section 20-113b, Connecticut General Statutes, a licensed dentist who practices dentistry for no fee for at least one hundred hours per year at a public health facility as defined in Section 20-126l and 19a-490 of the Connecticut General Statutes, and does not otherwise engage in the practice of dentistry shall be eligible to renew the license without payment of the annual renewal fee.
In order to apply for waiver of the renewal fee based on 100 hours of practicing dentistry for no fee at a public health facility, the licensee shall file the required application during the regular renewal period. The 100 hours of providing dental care for no fee must have been completed during the one-year period immediately preceding the date of the renewal application.
Please note that approximately 60 days prior to the last day of the licensee's month of birth, the licensee will receive a renewal application that will indicate that a full renewal fee is due. In order to qualify for the waiver of the renewal fee, the licensee is required to submit an application for waiver.
The licensee must indicate on the application that the licensee provided at least 100 hours of dental services for no fee and does not otherwise engage in the practice of dentistry.
The appropriate authority at the public health facility must indicate on the application that the licensee provided at least 100 hours of dental services for no fee in such facility.
Please note that any dentist who provides direct volunteer patient care services:
- Is required to maintain professional liability insurance or other indemnity against liability for professional liability insurance;
- Must comply with requirements for mandatory continuing education;
- Is prohibited from prescribing or administering controlled substances under schedules I or II and may not own or operate a dental practice.
Should you have questions, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.