OEMS - EMS Education and Training
EMR, EMT, AEMT and EMS-I initial or Refresher course listing
Connecticut and the National Registry of EMT (NREMT)
EMS Instructor Listserv
Mental Health First Aid Courses and Instructors
Training Updates and Forms
Education & Training Materials
EMS Instructor Applicant Requirements
EMR, EMT, AEMT and EMS-I Initial or Refresher Course
Approved EMS Initial Courses (updated May 2020) All EMS initial education programs in Connecticut must be approved by the Office of Emergency Medical Services. Contact the course coordinator directly for course information such as dates, times, costs and registration. OEMS does not conduct EMS certification programs. This listing includes training for the following:
- EMR – Emergency Medical Responder (60+ hours)
- EMT – Emergency Medical Technician (150+ hours)
- AEMT – Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (150-300 hours)
- EMS Instructor (must hold EMT or higher to enroll)
Please note: All EMS “Refreshers” will end on 12/31/2019. Starting 1/1/2020, EMS personnel are required to complete Continuing Medical Education at the appropriate level. This is a combination of the NCCR (described below) plus an equal number of elective CME hours. For example, an EMT must complete a 20 hour NCCR program plus 20 hours of CME.
Approved EMS Continuing Education (updated May 2020) All EMS continuing education programs in Connecticut must be approved by the Office of Emergency Medical Services. Contact the course coordinator directly for course information such as dates, times, costs and registration. OEMS does not conduct EMS continuing education programs. This listing includes the following:
- EMR National Continuing Competency Requirement (NCCR – 8 hours)
- EMT National Continuing Competency Requirement (NCCR – 20 hours)
- AEMT National Continuing Competency Requirement (NCCR – 25 hours)
- Paramedic National Continuing Competency Requirement (NCCR – 30 hours)
- Continuing Medical Education (applicable to all levels)
Pre-Approved Standardized Courses (updated May 2020) Various standardized EMS courses are pre-approved for continuing education credit. Any certified or licensed provider may use these hours towards their CME requirements. Any person who is an approved instructor of the accrediting program may conduct these courses. For example, an EMT may claim the hours from an AHA BLS course despite the instructor not holding EMS instructor certification.
Connecticut and the National Registry of EMT (NREMT)
EMS Instructor Listserv
The OEMS office operates an official email Listserv for EMS Instructors. Listserv info and to subscribe.
Initial Paramedic License Applicants – Public Act 19-191 requires that starting on January 1, 2020, any initial applicant for licensure MUST submit with their application "evidence to this Department with their application that they have completed mental health first aid training as part of a program provided by an instructor certified by the National Council for Behavioral Health." No other brand of training is accepted under this Public Act. Please note that this course does not have to be part of an approved EMT course, nor does the instructor need to be a certified EMS instructor.
This information was communicated to the EMS community on September 24, 2019 by OEMS Communication Statement 19-09 and updated on March 10, 2020 by OEMS Communication Statement 20-03. This Department does not recommend or approve one program over another, however provides this non-exclusive list in an effort to aid applicants in complying with this law.
Valerie English Cooper
Hosts courses at UCONN-Storrs. Available for on-site training. Contact instructor for scheduling. Cost is $99.
Institute of Living
|Open courses scheduled. Click link to register.|
|Echo Hose Ambulance
Open courses scheduled. Click link to register. Cost is $125
|Sharon Hospital||Jim Hutchinson
|Monthly open courses scheduled. No charge, supported by Sharon Hospital.|
|Wheeler Clinic||Cathy Sisco
|Free, open registration courses in greater Plainville. Free on-site programs available statewide upon request.|
|POST Instructor and EMS Instructor|
|Code One Training Solutions, Inc.||
|Open courses in East Hartford and greater New Haven. Click link to register. Cost is $120.|
|First Approach EMS Education||
Open courses statewide.
Courses upon request.
The following paramedic education programs have been approved by the Department and will prepare the successful candidate to take the NREMT paramedic examination and licensure in Connecticut. If an applicant completes paramedic training outside of Connecticut, they must first obtain certification or licensure from another state before seeking licensure by endorsement in Connecticut.
Contact programs directly for dates, times and registration procedures.
American Professional Education Service & Backus Hospital Consortium
1 American Way
Norwich, CT 06360
|Capital Community College
950 Main Street
Hartford, CT 06013
|Central Connecticut Paramedic Education Program Consortium
1 Herald Square
New Britain, CT 60051
|Hartford Healthcare Center for Education Innovation and Simulation
560 Hudson Street
Hartford, CT 06102
|Yale-New Haven Health Center for EMS
77-D Willow Street
New Haven, CT 06511
Paramedic Continuing Education
NCCP ALS continuing education is offered by many approved providers in Connecticut. Refer to the Current Approved EMS Provider Course listing above.
This section includes EMSI-specific memos and Everbridge notifications sent out to certified EMS Instructors. If you are a currently certified EMS Instructor and you are not receiving these notifications, please click here to send an email to be added to the database and begin receiving EMSI notifications. Please include name, CT EMSI certification number, and a valid email address.
Please utilize the online EMS Education Approval System in place of a T-1 or T-2 form
Online EMS Education Approval System
Online EMS Education Approval System directions
Verification of CEU's Instruction Form
2020 Changes - For EMS Instructors
T-3 Physician Medical Director (Jan 2020)
T-4 Course Roster and Completion (Jan 2020)
T-5 Uniform CME Certificate (Jan 2020)
T-6 Uniform Skills Verification Certificate (Jan 2020)|
T-7 Review and Retrain Form
Please see the List of the OEMS Education Forms for the description and explanation of the above listed forms.
OEMS Communication Statement (19-08) regarding the 2020 Changes to the EMS Certification Process can be found on the OEMS Communication and Resource Page.
- 2020 EMR and EMT Practical Skill Sheets
- NHTSA EMS National Guidelines for Educating EMS Instructors
- NHTSA Developing a Lesson Plan
- NHTSA Lesson plan outline
- EMS Education Manual
- NREMT NCCR Information and Outlines
- National EMS Education Standards
- Emergency Medical Responder Instructional Guidelines
- Emergency Medical Technician Instructional Guidelines
- Advanced Emergency Medical Technician Instructional Guidelines
- Paramedic Instructional Guidelines
- National EMS Core Content
- National EMS Scope of Practice Model - November 2017 Update
- Guideline for conducting an AEMT Training Program
Education & Training materials
EMT Administration of IM Epinephrine via Syringe (CME Approval CT-14-158, 3 hrs)
Hemorrhage Control for the EMS Provider (CME Approval CT-F4-159, 2hrs)
- Hemorrhage Control for the EMS Provider training presentation
- Hemorrhage Control for the EMS Provider training presentation (with instructor notes)
- Hemmorhage Control summary of changes to training presentation
Aspirin Administration Scope of Practice Expansion
EMT 12-Lead ECG Acquisition & Transmission Scope of Practice Expansion (CME Approval CT-F4-160, 2 hrs.)
EMT Blood Glucose Monitoring (CME Approval CT-F4-161, 3 hrs.)
EMT CPAP Scope of Practice Expansion (CME Approval CT-F4-162, 2 hrs.)
- CPAP by EMTs - Scope of Practice Letter
- Required CPAP Educational Competencies
- Model CPAP Training Program
- CPAP Approved Clinical Guideline
BLS Naloxone Administration Scope of Practice Expansion (CME Approval CT-F4-163, 2 hrs.)
Spinal Motion Restriction Scope of Practice Expansion
Tourniquet use by EMRs Scope of Practice Expansion
Please Note: Adobe Acrobat Reader is needed in order to view and print the Portable Document Format (pdf) files.