COVID-19 Community Levels Map Update, Jan. 27, 2023: The CDC has listed three Connecticut Counties—Litchfield, Middlesex and New Haven Counties—in the High/Orange category as part of its weekly COVID-19 Community Levels update. Fairfield, Hartford, New London, Tolland and Windham Counties are listed in the Medium/Yellow category.  Because all eight Connecticut counties are either in the High or Medium categories, the Connecticut Department of Public Health recommends that all residents consider wearing a mask in public indoor spaces. People who are at high risk for severe illness should consider additional measures to minimize their exposure to COVID-19 and other respiratory illnesses. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.


Please visit covidtests.gov to request four free COVID-19 self-test kits from the Federal Government. Find a location that has a supply of COVID-19 therapeutics as part of the Test to Treat initiative here. The complete DPH COVID-19 toolbox is located at ct.gov/coronavirus.

Licensing Requirements

Before applying for licensure, please familiarize yourself with the general licensing policies.

 

In order to quality for licensure, each person seeking an initial license as an esthetician shall:

 

Have completed a course of not less than six hundred hours of study and received a certification of completion from an approved school; and

Attest that the applicant is in compliance with the infection prevention and control plan guidelines prescribed by the department under section 19a-231 of the general statutes.

Documentation Requirements:

A completed application.  Applications are only accepted online.  Please select this link to apply online.  After you have registered for an account, please select 'Initial Application' at the bottom left of the screen and then expand the 'Appearance Enhancement' grouping.  The application fee is $100.

A certificate of completion issued by an approved school documenting completion of 600 hours of study in esthetics.  The applicant will upload this document as part of their online application.

Connecticut Department of Public Health

Esthetician Licensure

410 Capitol Ave., MS #12 APP

P.O. Box 340308

Hartford, CT 06134

Email:  oplc.dph@ct.gov