Connecticut and the NREMT FAQ

As OEMS continues exploration of adopting  the NREMT certification model, including the Mark King Initiative, for all certified and licensed EMS providers, we understand you may have questions. Below are Frequently Asked Questions OEMS has received. Check back often as we will continue to update this page.

Printable PDF version of the NREMT FAQ.

Are currently certified providers (EMR, EMT) who do not hold NREMT certification required to become nationally certified?
No. Currently Connecticut certified EMR and EMT personnel may choose to continue as state certified providers only, however they must utilize the new system of education to maintain certification (see NCCP below).
Do future certified providers (EMR, EMT, AEMT) have to become nationally certified?
Yes. All levels of EMS providers seeking certification after 1/1/2020 will require NREMT certification.  Any person certified after 1/1/2020 will be required to maintain NREMT certification as a prerequisite of becoming recertified as an EMR, EMT or AEMT.
How does a person who once held NREMT certification become recertified?
The NREMT "Mark King Initiative" allows any certified provider who held NREMT certification to regain that certification without retesting. They must maintain their certification with continuing education thereafter. (This applies to every EMT and paramedic certified or licensed since 1998 when Connecticut began using the NREMT.)
Are there any associated fees with the Mark King Initiative?
Yes. The fee schedule is below.
 Fee $10   $15 $15 $20
What will happen to refresher classes and testing? 
 Refresher classes and tests as currently conducted will no longer exist. The new model will include "Continuing Education" like all other medical professions.  See "NCCP" below for details. The current paper and pencil EMR and EMT refresher exam will no longer be required. 
What is the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP)? 

NCCP is a continuing education system approved by NREMT and adopted by Connecticut DPH for the ongoing education of EMS providers.  Instead of a "refresher course", the NCCP incorporates three categories of learning:

  1. National Competencies – Information for all providers nationwide.
  2. Local Competencies – Information for local and state needs.
  3. Individual Competencies – Information that interests the individual provider

See the table below for required hours by level:

National 8 20 25 30
Local 4 10 12.5 15
Individual 4 10 12.5 15
Total Hours 16 40 50 60

  Learn more about NCCP at

Does NCCP allow online and other distance education programs?
Yes. A majority of the educational hours may be met utilizing distance education. See the link above for details (Example: EMT 24 hours of Distance Education are accepted).
Will EMS instructors still have a role in continuing education?
Yes. EMS instructors will still be vital in the development and deployment of quality initial and continuing education under the updated system. Continuing education will still be subject to approval by OEMS just as current refresher courses are approved.
May a local EMS organization's in-service training count as continuing education towards NCCP requirements?
Yes. If in-service training has been developed in conjunction with an EMS instructor and meets the standards for continuing education as set forth by OEMS, CAPCE, medical direction and other accrediting bodies. (This may include CPR, blood borne pathogens, extrication, ACLS and other courses.)
Will Connecticut continue to support the certification of EMRs at age 14 and EMTs at age 16?
Yes. Connecticut will continue to allow EMRs to be certified at age 14 and EMTs to be certified at age 16.
Does the NREMT certify 16 and 17 year old EMT providers? (updated 10/1/2019)
Yes. NREMT and Connecticut both support the certification of EMTs at age 16 and older.
Does the NREMT certify EMRs aged 14-17?
Yes. NREMT and Connecticut both support the certification of EMRs at age 14 and older.
Can other education count towards NREMT recertification?
Yes. Related college, medical and related training courses may be counted towards recertification hours under the "Individual Component." Typical courses may include Anatomy & Physiology, biology, chemistry, nursing school, ACLS, wilderness EMT and critical care paramedic. Programs that should not be applied include management courses, instructor courses, preceptor hours, skills examiner duties or volunteer time.
What is the cost of NREMT certification and recertification?
Initial certification includes the cognitive exam fee. If a first time applicant fails the exam, they must pay the exam fee again. Recertification includes reconciliation of continuing education hours and issuance of new card.
   EMR EMT AEMT Paramedic
Initial $75 $80 $115 $125
Recertify $10 $15 $15 $20
What is Recertification by Examination?
NREMT allows a one-time "High-Stakes" attempt at recertification by registering for and taking the cognitive computer-based exam in place of completing the NCCP continuing education hours. If the candidate fails this exam, they must complete the full NCCP national and local requirements for recertification in order to obtain recertification. The fee for this exam is the same as the fee for initial certification listed above. 
How many providers are currently certified and/or licensed in Connecticut? (as of 9/4/2018)
   EMR EMT AEMT Paramedic  Total
Connecticut 6,564 12,527 288 2,427 21,806
NREMT 5 3,349 23 768 4,145
Will the practical exam for new EMTs be changed with adoption of the NREMT?
No. The practical exams will not change due to the adoption of the NREMT. However, there are several updates to the current practical exam system that are based on best practices, not on NREMT requirements.
How will recertification cycles be affected?
EMR, EMT and AEMT personnel will have a 2-year certification cycle, similar to the NREMT cycle. Paramedics will still have an annual license renewal and will have a 2-year NREMT cycle.
Why should Connecticut adopt NREMT certification as a standard for all levels of EMS provider?
NREMT is the industry expert at developing validated and reliable EMS exams that provide the people of the State of Connecticut with an independent standard by which to measure EMS professionals. Full adoption of the NREMT process will also make it easier for certified providers to obtain certification in other states.
How will Connecticut adopt this NREMT certification as a standard for all levels of EMS provider?
A change to the Connecticut General Statutes is required.  This would be accomplished through proposed legislative language during the next legislative session.

Please Note: Adobe Acrobat Reader DC  is needed in order to view and print the Portable Document Format (pdf) files.