July 1, 2022: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has listed Fairfield, Hartford, New London, Tolland, and Windham Counties in Low/Green the as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. Only Litchfield, Middlesex and New Haven Counties are listed in the Medium/Yellow category. Residents who live in the Medium /Yellow counties who are at a high risk for severe illness, should talk to their health care provider about whether to wear a mask and take other precautions. These residents should stay up to date with their COVID-19 vaccines and get tested if they have symptoms. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.

Tuberculosis Medicaid Program


There is a new program being offered by the Department of Social Services (DSS) that will allow Medicaid coverage for patients while they are being evaluated or treated for TB disease and infection including medication.  Those that qualify will be given a Medicaid card that will be used while the person is being treated for tuberculosis.

This program is for people who don’t qualify for regular Medicaid, are uninsured or underinsured and meet these requirements:

  1. U.S. citizen or legal immigration status (legal permanent resident, conditional entrant, parolee for at least one year, or a battered person who meets specific requirements AND
  2. Residence in the United States for at least five years.

Patients who don’t qualify for this program will have their TB invoices paid and medication provided by the Department of Public Health (DPH), TB Control Program.

Providers should contact the TB program if a patient has problems obtaining TB medications from a pharmacy or if there are concerns about a patient's compliance in obtaining medications from a pharmacy to discuss getting additional medications from DPH.

DSS Fact Sheet

Information letter for Providers

Information letter for Health Departments

TB Medicaid Application - English

TB Medicaid Application - Spanish




This page last updated 7/30/2021.