Beginning Nov. 20, 2023, every U.S. household can again place an order to receive four more free COVID-19 rapid tests delivered to their home by visiting COVIDTests.gov. If you did not order tests this fall, you may place two orders for a total of eight tests. Additionally, before you discard any “expired” test kits you have, please check here to see if the expiration dates of your COVID-19 tests have been extended.

Physician Professional Liability Insurance Requirements

Pursuant to Section 20-11b, Connecticut General Statutes, individuals licensed and providing direct patient care services, are required to maintain professional liability insurance or other indemnity against liability for professional malpractice.  The amount of such insurance or indemnity for claims against injury or death for professional malpractice must be not less than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) for one person, per occurrence, with an aggregate of not less than one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000).  In the event that a licensee fails to maintain such insurance or indemnity coverage, the Connecticut Medical Examining Board may restrict, suspend, revoke, limit the right to practice or take action in accordance with Section 19a-17, Connecticut General Statutes.