May 20, 2022: the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention listed six Connecticut Counties in the High/Orange category as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. Only Fairfield and Tolland Counties are listed in the Medium/Yellow category. Residents in these counties should wear a mask indoors in public; stay up to date with COVID-19 vaccines and get tested if they have symptoms. Additional precautions may be needed for residents who are at high risk for severe illness. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.

Professional Liability Insurance Requirements

 

Pursuant to Section 20-73d, Connecticut General Statutes, each person licensed to practice physical therapy under the provisions of Chapter 376, Connecticut General Statutes, who provides direct patient care services shall maintain professional liability insurance or other indemnity against liability for professional malpractice. The amount of insurance which each such person shall carry as insurance or indemnity against claims for injury or death for professional malpractice shall not be less than $500,000 for one person, per occurrence, with an aggregate of not less than $1,500,000. 

 

Each insurance company which issues professional liability insurance, as defined in subdivision (10) of subsection (b) of section 38a-393 of the general statutes, shall on and after January 1, 2007, render to the Commissioner of Public Health a true record of the names and addresses, according to classification, of cancellations of and refusals to renew professional liability insurance policies and the reasons for such cancellation or refusal to renew said policies for the year ending on the thirty-first day of December next preceding.