Marital and Family Therapist Licensure by Waiver of the Examination
Before applying for licensure, please familiarize yourself with the general licensing policies.
Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Section 20-195c(b), the Department may waive the examination for any applicant who is a currently practicing, competent practitioner in another state and is licensed or certified by a similar board of another state whose standards are similar to or higher than those of this state.
Successful completion of a graduate degree program specializing in marital and family therapy from a program approved by the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) or completion of a program meeting the requirements outlined in Section 20-195a-2 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies at a regionally accredited institution of higher education;
Successful completion of a supervised practicum or internship with an emphasis in marital and family therapy and supervised by either the program granting the requisite degree, or by an accredited postgraduate clinical training program which is approved by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE), and recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, in which the student received a minimum of 500 direct clinical hours that included 100 hours of clinical supervision;
Verification of at least 1000 hours of direct client contact in not less than 12 months of postgraduate work experience submitted directly to this office by the individual(s) completing the verification. Please select this link for the required form. If employed by more than one employer, please have each employer submit a separate verification of employment form directly to this office;
Verification of 100 hours of postgraduate supervision by a licensed marital and family therapist submitted directly to this office by the supervisor(s) completing the verification. Please select this link for the required form. If supervised by more than one person, please have each supervisor submit a separate verification of supervision form directly to this office;
If applicable, verification of any licenses/certificates ever held in other states. Most jurisdictions charge a fee for completion of the verification form. You may wish to contact the jurisdiction for fee information; and
A completed application with photograph attached. Applications are only accepted online. Please select this link to apply online. The application fee is $315.
Upon receipt of all required documentation, the application will be reviewed at the administrative level, an eligibility determination will be made and the applicant will be notified in writing as to his or her eligibility for waiver of examination. Please allow four to six weeks for this review.
Applicants who wish to expedite the licensing process may choose to meet the eligibility requirements for obtaining licensure/certification for the first time.
If it is determined that the other state's licensing requirements are not equal to those of this state and the applicant wants to pursue licensure/certification, he or she would be required to meet the current Connecticut licensing requirements.
All supporting documentation should be sent to:
Connecticut Department of Public Health
Marital and Family Therapist Licensure
410 Capitol Ave., MS # 12 APP
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: (860) 509-7603
Fax: (860) 707-1980