Before applying for licensure, please familiarize yourself with the general licensing policies.
The Department of Public Health may issue a dental license by endorsement of an out-of-state license provided the applicant holds a current, valid license in good standing in another state or territory of the United States and the state or territory of current licensure maintains licensing standards equal to or higher than Connecticut's requirements.
An applicant seeking licensure by endorsement must ensure that the current licensure standards of the state or territory in which currently licensed are forwarded directly to this office.
It is important to note that when reviewing the statutes and regulations of another state to those of this state, the Department compares them to the current licensing requirements for a Connecticut dentist licensure rather than the requirements met at the time of issuance of the out-of-state license.
The following documents shall be forwarded directly to this office directly from the source:
A completed, notarized application form with photograph attached and fee of $565.00 in the form of a bank check or money order payable to, "Treasurer, State of Connecticut";
A separate bank check or money order in the amount of $4.75 made payable to, "Treasurer, State of CT". This payment covers the Department's cost for querying the National Practitioner Data Bank.
Please do not combine the above two (2) payments into one single payment. Such a payment cannot be processed and will delay the Department's processing of the application.
Verification of all licenses held by the applicant (current or expired) from each state or territory in which the applicant is or has ever been licensed. Most states charge a fee for completion of the form. Please contact each state or territory for fee information;
Current licensure statutes, regulations and policies submitted directly to this office from the state or territory in which currently licensed.
At such time as all documentation is received, the application will be reviewed by Department staff, an eligibility determination will be made and the applicant will be notified in writing regarding the Department's determination. Please allow four to six weeks for this review.
If it is determined that the other state's licensing requirements are not equal to those of this state and the applicant wants to pursue licensure, he or she would be required to meet the current Connecticut licensing requirements.
All supporting documentation should be sent to:
Connecticut Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Ave., MS #12 APP
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: (860) 509-7603
Fax: (860) 707-1929