Guide to Assessments for Educator Certification in Connecticut


Statutory Authority

Connecticut law requires that all educators hold a valid Connecticut certificate or permit to be employed in any local or regional public school, or approved private special education facility. Eligibility for certification is based on completion of requirements specific to the endorsement including, but not limited to:

  • planned program/coursework;
  • assessments; and/or
  • experiential requirements.

The Connecticut State Board of Education reviews and adopts Connecticut assessment requirements. For more information, see Sec. 10-145f of the Connecticut General Statutes.

Accepting Older Versions of Assessments

When a new test is adopted which IS comparable to the test(s) previously required, the older test(s) may be accepted to meet testing requirements for five years from the effective date of the new test, provided the applicant met the previous requirement PRIOR to the effective date of the new test. For example, ETS has regenerated the Praxis II Elementary Multiple Subjects Test #5031 (with subtests #5032, #5033, #5034 and #5035). The State Board of Education adopted the new test, #5001 (with subtests #5002, #5003, #5004 and #5005), as of September 1, 2015. Educators do not need to retake sections of the current test #5031 that they pass by September 1, 2015, as long as they pass any combination of all 4 sections by August 31, 2020. Educators who have not applied and met all eligibility requirements by August 31, 2020, including educators who allow their certificate to lapse, will be required to pass all sections of the new test. Therefore, educators who allow their certificates to lapse five or more years after the effective date of a new comparable test are required to pass current tests before they will become eligible for recertification.