To protect the health and safety of the public and our employees, the Department of Banking has limited the number of employees at our office at 260 Constitution Plaza in Hartford. When contacting the Department, please use electronic communication whenever possible. Consumers are encouraged to use our online form for complaints. If you are unsure where to send an inquiry, you may send it to and it will be routed appropriately. Thank you for your patience during this time.

The Department of Banking News Bulletin 

Bulletin # 2918 - Week Ending January 24, 2020


This bulletin constitutes the only official notification you will receive from this office concerning any of the following applications.  Any observations you may have are solicited.  Any comments should be in writing to Jorge L. Perez, Banking Commissioner, Department of Banking, 260 Constitution Plaza, Hartford, CT 06103-1800.  Written comments will be considered only if they are received within ten business days from the date of this bulletin.






On January 21, 2020, America’s First Network Credit Union (“AFNCU”), a Connecticut credit union, and Connecticut Transit Federal Credit Union (“Connecticut Transit”), a federal credit union, filed an application pursuant to Section 36a-468a of the Connecticut General Statutes seeking approval to merge Connecticut Transit with and into AFNCU. As part of the application, AFNCU is proposing to expand its field of membership to include the select employee group that makes up Connecticut Transit’s field of membership. 

On January 24, 2020, the Commissioner approved the merger of Connecticut Federal Credit Union ("Connecticut Federal"), a federal credit union, with and into America's First Network Credit Union ("AFNCU"), a Connecticut credit union, pursuant to Section 36a-468a of the Connecticut General Statutes. In conjunction with the merger, AFNCU's field of membership will expand to include all select employee groups that make up Connecticut Federal’s field of membership.


      Dated: Tuesday, January 28, 2020


      Jorge L. Perez
      Banking Commissioner