CHEAPR Program Logo

 

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any questions on the Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate (CHEAPR), please review the frequently asked questions below. The questions cover the most common questions that arise with the program. For more details, you should also review the CHEAPR program guidelines.

 

BACKGROUND

Who can I contact if I have questions?
What is CHEAPR?
How is CHEAPR funded?
Who is administering CHEAPR?

 

GETTING STARTED

What vehicles are eligible for the program?
What are the CHEAPR requirements and incentive amounts for eligible vehicles?
Are leased vehicles eligible for the program?
What vehicles types are not eligible for CHEAPR?
What can I do if I am purchasing or leasing a vehicle that meets the requirements of the program but is not currently on the eligible vehicle list?
How can an OEM get a new eligible vehicle or new Model Year of already existing vehicle adding to the eligible vehicle list?
My vehicle was previously not listed but is now listed, can I get a retroactive rebate?
I was not aware the vehicle I purchased or leased was eligible and was not informed by the dealer. Can I still receive a rebate?
Can I purchase the vehicle out of state?
How many CHEAPR incentives may an individual receive?
Can businesses and government, municipal or commercial fleet operators apply for CHEAPR?
Is the CHEAPR incentive taxable income?
I want more detailed information about CHEAPR. Can I get a copy of the CHEAPR Implementation Manual?

 

APPLICATION PROCESS

How do I apply for CHEAPR?
When can I apply for CHEAPR?
How will I know if my application was submitted or approved?
How are CHEAPR funds allocated?
How will I know if I will receive the CHEAPR incentive or not?
What are the requirements for the applicant?
When will I receive my CHEAPR incentive?
Is there a deadline to apply?

 

OTHER INCENTIVES

Are there any federal tax incentives for electric vehicles?
Can I use the federal tax credit for electric vehicles as well as the CHEAPR incentive program?
Are there any incentives for installing EV charging stations?

 

BACKGROUND

 

Who can I contact if I have questions?
Please contact the program administrator, Center for Sustainable Energy® (CSE), at 855-704-6350 or cheapr@energycenter.org for all program inquiries. Program staff is available from 8 am-5 pm ET to answer your questions, with 24 hour voicemail access.
What is CHEAPR?

The Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate (CHEAPR) offers incentives of up to $9,500 for Connecticut residents who purchase or lease a new eligible battery electric, fuel cell electric, or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. CHEAPR consists of three incentives, the CHEAPR Standard Rebate, CHEAPR Rebate+ New and CHEAPR Rebate+ Used.

All Connecticut residents are eligible for the standard rebate and Connecticut residents who participate in certain income qualified programs are eligible for the CHEAPR Rebate+ New and CHEAPR Rebate+ Used programs.

As part of Connecticut's ongoing efforts to move towards more sustainable forms of transportation energy while supporting our clean air and greenhouse gas reduction targets, CHEAPR will increase the number of clean vehicles on our roads.

How is CHEAPR funded?

The CHEAPR incentive program, as set forth in section 22a-202 of the Connecticut General Statutes, is funded through the "Clean Air Act" fee on new motor vehicle sales and motor vehicle registration renewals. As of July 1, 2022, 100% of the fees collected are directed to funding the program.

Until 2019, the CHEAPR pilot program was made possible through funding commitments by American Electric Power Service Corporation, Eversource Energy and Avangrid as part of broader commitments to energy efficiency, renewable generation, alternative transportation, electric vehicles and other clean technologies.

Who is administering CHEAPR?

The program is implemented by the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) with the assistance of a program vendor and the input of a diverse seventeen (17) member advisory board. CHEAPR is administered statewide by the Center for Sustainable Energy® (CSE) in order to promote the production and use of zero and low emission vehicles, including battery electric, fuel cell electric and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles.

 

GETTING STARTED

 

What vehicles are eligible for the program?

There are three different types of vehicles eligible for the program: battery electric vehicles (BEV), fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEV) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEV).

To see the complete list of eligible vehicles and the associated incentive amounts, please visit:

Note: Pursuant to Public Act 22-25, DEEP is working to expand CHEAPR to include electric bicycles and will update this list when such changes are ready to be implemented.

What are the CHEAPR requirements and incentive amounts for different eligible vehicles?

The following chart represents rebates valid for vehicle purchase beginning June 7, 2021 until December 31, 2021 or until funds are exhausted:

 

CHEAPR Standard*

Rebate+ New*

Rebate+ Used*

PHEV

$750

$1,500

$1,125

BEV

$2,250

$2,000

$3,000

FCEV

$7,500

$2,000

$7,500

*CHEAPR rebate amounts, in effect from June 7, 2021 to December 31, 2021, have been extended until December 31, 2022 or until funds allocated for the aforementioned period are exhausted.

To see the complete list of eligible vehicles and the associated incentive amounts, please visit:

Are leased vehicles eligible for the program?

Yes. Leased vehicles are required to have a lease term of at least 24 months to qualify for the program.

What vehicle types are not eligible for CHEAPR?

The following vehicle types are not eligible for CHEAPR incentives:

  • Aftermarket plug-in hybrid electric and battery electric conversions
  • Electric scooters, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), neighborhood or low speed vehicles
  • Electric motorcycles
  • Electric bicycles

Note: Pursuant to Public Act 22-25, DEEP is working to expand CHEAPR to include electric bicycles and will update this list when such changes are ready to be implemented.

What can I do if I am purchasing or leasing a vehicle that meets the requirements of the program but is not currently on the eligible vehicle list?

Vehicles that are not currently on the eligible vehicles list are not eligible for CHEAPR. It is the responsibility of the Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) to contact CHEAPR for eligibility consideration. Please encourage the OEM to reach out to the CHEAPR program at cheapr@energycenter.org.

How can an OEM get a new eligible vehicle or new Model Year of already existing vehicle adding to the eligible vehicle list?

For both newly eligible vehicles and new model years, please email cheapr@energcenter.org with the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) decipherment and a marketing photo of the vehicle.

My vehicle was previously not listed but is now listed, can I get a retroactive rebate?

No. As a point-of-sale program, vehicles must be on the eligible vehicle list and the rebate must be applied at the time of purchase or lease to be eligible for a rebate.

I was not aware the vehicle I purchased or leased was eligible and was not informed by the dealer. Can I still receive a rebate?

Please contact CHEAPR program staff at cheapr@energycenter.org or 855-704-6350 for assistance

Can I purchase the vehicle out of state?

All new vehicles must be purchased at a licensed Connecticut automobile dealer and also registered in Connecticut. But, the CHEAPR program is able to process CHEAPR applications from individual consumers who purchase or lease a new eligible vehicle directly from an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) that does not have licensed new automobile dealers in Connecticut (e.g., Tesla). However, when such vehicles are authorized for sale or lease within Connecticut, applicants will be required to purchase or lease such vehicles from retail locations located within the state in order to be eligible for the CHEAPR program.

How many CHEAPR incentives may an individual receive?

Each applicant will be allowed two CHEAPR incentives within available funds. The second rebate may be redeemed after 24 months of the first rebate approval.

Can businesses and government or commercial fleet operators apply for CHEAPR?

Not at this time. CHEAPR is only available to Connecticut residents. Please see the important following note.

Note: Pursuant to Public Act 22-25, DEEP is working to expand applicability to Connecticut businesses, municipalities, non-profit organizations, and tribal entities and will update the list of eligible entities when such changes are implemented.

Is the CHEAPR incentive taxable income?

The CHEAPR incentive may be considered taxable income by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service and the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. It shall be the sole responsibility of the recipient, individually, to seek professional advice and determine the tax consequences of CHEAPR.

I want more detailed information about CHEAPR. Can I get a copy of the CHEAPR Implementation Manual?

You can download a copy of the CHEAPR Implementation Manual from the CHEAPR Resources webpage which contains the detailed guidelines for CHEAPR.

 

APPLICATION PROCESS

 

How do I apply for CHEAPR?
CHEAPR Standard Rebate

The standard rebate will be applied for through the dealer at the time of the purchase. As the purchaser you only have to complete a short survey during this process. The standard rebate will be taken off the purchase price of your vehicle and your dealer will complete and submit all necessary application materials for you.

Please note: Dealerships are not required to participate in the CHEAPR program. Dealer participation in CHEAPR is voluntary. During the purchase or lease a new eligible vehicle you should verify your dealer is participating dealer in the program and verify your dealer has prepared and submitted an application through their dealer account. All dealers who have participated in the program can be found through the CHEAPR - Program Statistics page.

Rebate+ New

After you purchase or lease a new eligible vehicle and your Standard Rebate is redeemed by the dealer, you will receive an offer email with eligibility information and instructions on how to apply for Rebate+ New if you qualify. You will also receive information regarding the required documentation as well as status updates and approval.

Rebate+ Used

Purchase a used vehicle from a licensed Connecticut automobile dealership, or from an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) that does not have any licensed dealerships in Connecticut and submit a Rebate+ application online if you qualify for the program. You will receive communications via email regarding the required documentation as well as status updates and approval.

Program communications will be sent via email from cheapr@energycenter.org. Dealers and consumers should add this email to their safe senders list to ensure notifications from the CHEAPR program are not sent to their spam email folders.

When can I apply for CHEAPR?

To qualify for the rebate, vehicles must be purchased or leased on or after the program launch date of June 7, 2021. CHEAPR applications and supporting documents must be submitted no later than forty-five (45) calendar days after the date of purchase or lease of an eligible vehicle. Applications submitted prior to the date of purchase or lease will not be accepted.

How will I know if my CHEAPR application was submitted or approved?

You will receive an email that confirms receipt of your CHEAPR application and provides a link to an on-line survey. You can also expect to receive additional emails notifying you when your application is approved.

How are CHEAPR funds allocated?

Funds are limited and all funds are allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

How will I know if I will receive the CHEAPR incentive or not?

If funds are available when the application is submitted, the applicable CHEAPR amount will be reserved. As long as all the required documents are submitted and all program requirements are met in the program timeframes, the CHEAPR incentive will be issued.

What are the requirements for the applicant?

To qualify for a standard CHEAPR incentive on the purchase or lease of an eligible new electric vehicle on or after the program start date, consumers must:

  • Purchase or lease the vehicle from a participating dealership after the program start date of June 7, 2021;
  • Complete a short survey at the time of purchase or lease; and
  • The participating dealer must:
    • Submit an online dealer application and supporting documents no later than forty five (45) calendar days after the vehicle purchase or lease date, after executing and signing a purchase or lease agreement;
    • Submit all required supporting documents, which include:
      • Terms and conditions signed by the consumer,
      • A purchase/lease agreement signed by the consumer that shows the CHEAPR incentive applied to the vehicle sale. If the vehicle is leased, a lease term of no less than 24 months,
      • Purchaser/Lessee's proof of residency in Connecticut (e.g., current Connecticut driver's license)
      • Proof of purchase or lease of the eligible vehicle from a licensed Connecticut franchised new automobile dealer or online dealership,
      • Proof of registration for the eligible vehicle in Connecticut, and
      • Signed rebate transfer form from the consumer to the dealer.
  • For Rebate+ applicants, submit Proof of Participation in approved state or federal income qualified program no later than fifteen (15) days after your offer email was sent.

To qualify for a CHEAPR Rebate + incentive on the purchase or lease of an eligible new or used electric vehicle on or after the program start date, consumers must:

  1. Create an account at the Rebate+ online application: apply.drivecheapr-ct.org
  2. Fill out the forms for the application within 45 days.
  3. Submit documents, including:
    • Proof of Participation in approved state or federal income qualified program no later than fifteen (15) days after your offer email was sent; and
    • Proof of purchase for the vehicle from a licensed Connecticut dealership.

View step-by-step tutorials and learn how to create an account and submit a CHEAPR Rebate+ New or Used application on the CHEAPR Resources page as well as DEEP and CHEAPR YouTube channels.

The CHEAPR program is able to process CHEAPR applications from individual consumers who purchase or lease a new eligible vehicle directly from an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) that does not have licensed new automobile dealers in Connecticut (e.g., Tesla). However, when such vehicles are authorized for sale or lease within Connecticut, applicants will be required to purchase or lease such vehicles from retail locations located within the state in order to be eligible for the CHEAPR program.

When will I receive my CHEAPR incentive?

The program is designed so that the consumer receives the standard rebate at the time of the sale. When the application is submitted by the dealer through the dealer portal the funds will be set aside for the dealership. Once the application is approved, the dealership will be reimbursed through electronic funds transfer. Rebate+ New and Rebate+ Used incentive will be sent directly to the purchaser or lessee by check or electric funds transfer.

Is there a deadline to apply?

CHEAPR applications for the Standard Rebate and Rebate+ Used must be submitted by the dealer or consumer, respectively, no later than forty-five (45) calendar days after the date of purchase or lease of an eligible vehicle. For Rebate+ New, the vehicle purchaser/lessee is the applicant and will have fifteen (15) calendar days from the date of their offer email to submit their Rebate+ New application. Applications submitted prior to the date of purchase or lease will not be accepted.

 

OTHER INCENTIVES

 

Are there any federal tax incentives for electric vehicles?

Recently passed legislation (Inflation Reduction Act of 2022) changes federal tax credit amounts and requirements for qualifying electric vehicles purchased after August 16, 2022. For more information, please visit the following links:

 

Federal tax credits for the purchase or lease of new electric vehicles range from $2,500 to $8,000 , with factors such as battery capacity determining how much owners are eligible to receive. To meet the tax incentive's standards, a BEV or PHEV must have a battery with a minimum capacity of 4 kWh. Vehicles with a battery capacity of 5 kWh or greater are eligible for an additional $417 of tax credit added for every kilowatt-hour in excess of 4 kWh. Vehicles such as the Nissan LEAF, with a 24 kWh capacity battery, will be eligible for the maximum $7,500 credit. Federal tax credit amounts for each qualified vehicle can be found on the Department of Energy's Fuel Economy website.

The federal government is phasing out electric vehicle tax credits over time for each automobile manufacturer as sales volume increases. For further information on current federal tax incentives for alternative fuel vehicles, hybrid vehicles and electric-drive vehicles, visit www.fueleconomy.gov.

Can I use the federal tax credit for electric vehicles as well as the CHEAPR incentive program?

The CHEAPR incentive program is a Connecticut state program and is independent of the federal electric vehicle tax credit. Participation in other incentive programs does not disqualify an applicant from participation in CHEAPR.

Are there any incentives for installing EV charging stations?

Connecticut utilities have several programs that may qualify you to receive funds for electric vehicle charging stations.

Eversource + United Illuminating Make Ready Programs

Launched on January 1, 2022, the Connecticut EV Charging Program is administered by Eversource Energy (Eversource) and The United Illuminating Company (UI). The Connecticut EV Charging Program is a new nine-year program that is designed to meet consumer demand for charging infrastructure by providing incentives for electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) as well as rate design offerings.

For more information on available EV charging incentives, visit Eversource and UI's EV Charging Program webpages:

Federal Tax Credits for Charging Equipment

Consumers who purchase qualified residential charging equipment may be eligible for federal tax credits. For more information visit the Department of Energy's Alternative Fuel Infrastructure webpage. If you are a business or municipality and are looking to install a publicly available electric vehicle charging station, please review the available EVConnecticut Incentives and federal Alternative Fuel Infrastructure Tax Credit webpages. In the past there have been substantial grants awarded for the installation of publicly available charging stations.

Consumers who purchase qualified residential fueling equipment may be eligible for federal tax credits. For more information visit the Department of Energy's Alternative Fuel Infrastructure webpage.

If you are a business or municipality and are looking to install a publicly available electric vehicle charging station, please review the available EVConnecticut Incentives and federal Alternative Fuel Infrastructure Tax Credit webpages. In the past there have been substantial grants awarded for the installation of publicly available charging stations.

 

 

Content last updated October 7, 2022