DEEP is continuing to carry out its mission and provide services while keeping both the public and our workforce safe during the COVID-19 pandemic. Click here for the latest updates on DEEP's response to COVID-19. DEEP COVID-19 Response



Connecticut is looking to the future of waste reduction and sustainable materials management. DEEP and many municipalities from across the state are joining together to form the Connecticut Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management (CCSMM) and explore ways to reduce the amount of waste that is generated in our state, improve reuse, recycling, organics collection, and other innovative solutions.

CCSMM is looking to the future to find preferred ways to reduce and manage the amount of waste produced in Connecticut that provide system reliability, environmental sustainable, and fiscal predictability.  A full list of the participating jurisdictions is included at the end of this page, and will be updated as more jurisdictions sign on over time.


Presentations from the kick-of meeting for CCSMM, held on September 8 (Agenda), are listed below. 

Main DEEP Presentation - presenters Katie Dykes, DEEP Commissioner; Laura Francis, First Selectman, Town of Durham
Matt Knickerbocker, First Selectman, Town of Bethel

Outreach and Education - Best Practices: Three Levels - presenter Cyril John ("CJ") May, Waterbury Refuse/Recycling Coordinator

Textiles Recyling in Middletown -  presenter Kim O'Rourke, Middletown Recycling Coordinator

Housatonic Resources Recovery (HRRA) Glass Collection Pilot Program -  presenter Jennifer Heaton Jones,  HRRA Executive Director

Zoom link for recording of September 8th CCSMM Kick-Off Meeting



This initiative is co-chaired by:

  • Katie Dykes, DEEP Commissioner
  • Laura Francis, First Selectman, Durham
  • Matt Knickerbocker, First Selectman, Bethel

Members of the CCSMM have signed the following statement:
CCSMM Sign- on Statement

We recognize that by working together, we have the potential to achieve economies of scale and send a strong signal for private investment and sector transformation.  At the same time, we respect the unique needs and policy preferences of each participating jurisdiction, and the importance of flexible approaches.  We recognize that each municipality can contribute in different ways, through different measures, to achieve our shared goals.

We welcome all municipal partners that would like to join us in this endeavor. 


Participating Jurisdictions: 
Connecticut Map of Towns highlighting towns within CCSMM   
 Participating Jurisdictions in CCSMM (as of September 3, 2020)
CT Department of Energy and Environmental Protection        
 Ansonia  Deep River  Harwinton  New London   Salem  Washington
 Barkhamsted  Durham  Kent  Newtown  Salisbury  Waterbury
 Bethel  East Granby  Killingly  North Haven
 Sharon  West Hartford
 Bethlehem  East Hartford  Litchfield  North Stonington  Southington  Westbrook
 Bloomfield  Ellington  Madison  Old Lyme  Stonington  Weston
 Branford  Essex  Manchester  Old Saybrook  Stratford  Westport
 Bridgeport  Farmington  Mansfield  Oxford  Suffield  Windham
 Bristol  Granby  Middlefield  Pomfret  Thomaston  Windsor Locks
 Brookfield  Greenwich   Middletown  Portland  Torrington  Woodstock
 Canterbury  Guilford  Montville  Ridgefield  Vernon  
 Canton  Haddam  New Britain  Rocky Hill  Voluntown  
 Coventry  Hartford  New Fairfield  Roxbury
     New Haven       

Stay Updated

Want to stay up to date on the CT Coalition for Sustainable Materials Management? 

Sign up to receive email updates on CCSMM. 


Additional Information  
  Content Last Updated on September 10, 2020