Professional Liability Insurance Requirements


Pursuant to Section 20-73d, Connecticut General Statutes, each person licensed to practice physical therapy under the provisions of Chapter 376, Connecticut General Statutes, who provides direct patient care services shall maintain professional liability insurance or other indemnity against liability for professional malpractice. The amount of insurance which each such person shall carry as insurance or indemnity against claims for injury or death for professional malpractice shall not be less than $500,000 for one person, per occurrence, with an aggregate of not less than $1,500,000. 


Each insurance company which issues professional liability insurance, as defined in subdivision (10) of subsection (b) of section 38a-393 of the general statutes, shall on and after January 1, 2007, render to the Commissioner of Public Health a true record of the names and addresses, according to classification, of cancellations of and refusals to renew professional liability insurance policies and the reasons for such cancellation or refusal to renew said policies for the year ending on the thirty-first day of December next preceding.