General Information

A Certificate of Registration from the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) is required prior to any person operating a pesticide application business in Connecticut. The business registration is required in addition to individual applicator certification.  (Details of these requirements can be found in Sections 22a-61(a) and 22a-66c(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.) A Pesticide Application Business is defined as:

“...any business which wholly or in part holds itself out for hire to apply or to recommend the application of a pesticide,…or which for compensation, applies or recommends the use of a pesticide.” Examples include: Exterminators, lawn services, arborist, etc.

A Certificate of Registration runs from September 1 through August 31 and must be renewed annually.


Section 22a-66h of the General Statutes states “that any person who violates any provision of the business registration law shall forfeit to the state a sum not to exceed five thousand dollars per day for each day of violation.  The Attorney General, upon complaint of the commissioner, shall institute a civil action to recover such forfeiture in the superior court for the judicial district of Hartford…”

Online Registration

Creating a new account

Applying for a Pesticide Business Registration

Registration Requirements

Businesses with more than one place of business in Connecticut or which operate under more than one name must register and pay a fee for each place of business and each business name.  The “place of business” is defined as any physical location at or through which the functional operations of business regularly occur, including but not limited to, financial transactions, arrangement of contracts, assignment of work and record keeping.  Buildings or locations used solely for storage of equipment or supplies or telephone answering services are not considered places of business and therefore do not require registration. Each business location and/or name that is to be registered must have it's own online account. Businesses subcontracting pesticide applications are also required to register.

Registration Fee

Each pesticide application business employing more than one certified applicator (supervisory or operational) is required to pay a $240.00 annual registration fee.   

Any pesticide application business which employs only one certified supervisory applicator must register their business, however they are not required to pay the $240.00 fee.  If the business employs or subcontracts any additional certified applicators, the business must then submit the $240.00 fee to DEEP.  If you are claiming a single certified applicator exemption, please complete the registration online.

Arborist Businesses

As of October 1, 2013, any business out for hire to perform arboriculture must have a certificate of registration from The Department of Energy and Environmental Protection.  There is no exemption for single arborist businesses.  All businesses must pay the $240.00 yearly fee.   


A renewal notices will go out 90 days prior to expiration with instructions for completing your online renewal. 

If the name, address, email, phone number, person responsible for the business or certified supervisor or operator changes,  you must update your online account within 30 days.

Subcontracting of Commercial Pesticide Application

If a company which does not employ a certified commercial supervisor wishes to bid on (solicit) a contract that includes commercial pesticide applications, they may subcontract the pesticide application to a second company which is properly registered.  The unregistered company must then comply with all pertinent laws and regulations including, but not limited to, the following:

  1. registering as a commercial pesticide application business;
  2. having the subcontractor complete Part VII (subcontracting information) of the registration form and sign Part VIII of the application;
  3. maintaining the pesticide business records;
  4. notifying individuals on the registry of pesticide applications; and 
  5. providing pesticide label information prior to contract agreements to all customers.

The certified supervisor must comply with all pertinent laws and regulations including, but not limited to:

  1. being present at the time of the pesticide application or provide written instructions to certified operators;
  2. posting outdoor applications with the name of the subcontracted company;
  3. maintaining required pesticide application records; and 
  4. submitting the annual pesticide-use summary.

Requirements for display of the “B number” now "PMBR number"

Any registered pesticide application business is required to display the registration number assigned to it by DEEP on:

  1. the body of any motor vehicle (marked or unmarked) used in the course of business;
  2. newspaper advertisements;
  3. billboard advertisements;
  4. advertisements in generally circulated telephone directories (i.e. yellow page ads).  Large companies may include registration numbers for all branches in each ad if phone books and branches overlap (i.e.-PMBR-123 Hartford PMBR-124 Meriden and PMBR-1098 New Haven); and 
  5. written contracts for the provision of pesticide application services.

For further details on the requirements regarding the display of the registration number, see Connecticut General Statutes 22a-66c section (d)   .


For further information, please contact the Pesticide Management Program by phone at (860) 424-3369 or by e-mail or write to: 

    Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
    Bureau of Materials Management and Compliance Assurance
    Pesticide Management Program
    79 Elm Street
    Hartford, CT 06106-5127


Content Last Updated on March 26, 2021

Top | Pesticide Certification